• April 24, 2024, 03:05:29 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: FIXED: Vista Home and DNS-323 issues.  (Read 7295 times)

Grimalkin

• Level 1 Member
FIXED: Vista Home and DNS-323 issues.
« on: December 05, 2008, 03:32:15 PM »

All - Let me preface this by announcing that I am a network engineer with almost 20 years of experience.  OK, now for my problem, the D-Link Tier 2 Techie drew a blank and referred me to here, I have a workgroup of four computers.  Three are loaded with WinXP Pro and the fourth is loaded with Vista Home.  The three XP boxes work like a charm when it comes to holding their drive mappings.  The Vista machine is a different story!  Initially, I can map the drives and access all the files just fine.  When I reboot the system that is the point where my problems begin.  It is not holding the drive mappings and I have to actually disconnect the drive and remap it to access the data stored on the DNS-323.

I do have a case number if any of the DNS-323 Engineers what to look up my case file: ALR399969268.  I've heard that the problem stems from the way Vista authenticates itself to the device but, unfortunately, I don't have the "secpol.msc" snap-in since the Home Premium version doesn't come with it!  Thanks in advance for any assistance that you can give!
« Last Edit: December 05, 2008, 08:49:58 PM by Grimalkin »

ttmcmurry

• Level 4 Member
Re: Vista Home and DNS-323 issues.
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2008, 03:40:34 PM »

Tell us about your Network Access settings on the 323.  Also, can you let us know what security products you're running on your Vista machine?  Is UAC still running?  What group is the user you're logging in as a member of?