• November 19, 2017, 04:33:36 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....  (Read 342 times)

jtg117

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« on: October 27, 2017, 02:02:45 AM »

Info:
Speed: 60Mbps/5Mpbs
D-LINK EXO DIR 879 with firmware 1.05B05


QoS Feature = Broken

When I used the QoS Feature for some Reason the router disconnects itself from the cable Modem.
from there it tries to connect back to the modem(fails to attain ip,dns...etc information from modem)

I've tried using Static IP settings.....nope didnt work...


So it goes like this  Login into Admin panel
-> Set Prioity list in QoS engine page
-> Router Reboots
-> Evertything is works fine for like 30 Seconds
-> Router Disconnects from modem
-> OR router WILL NOT disconnect from modem BUT any WiFi devices connected to the router will experience intermittent Disconnects, drops in Speed or WiFi devices will flat out refuse to connect to router

As soon as stop using QoS (taking all clients off the priority list) the router works like charm.

I Repeat the QoS Feature is either bugged or is not working as intended,

Update: I decided to roll back to 1.03 - but qos still did not work though this time i was able to log what happened look at the pics

« Last Edit: October 28, 2017, 07:15:09 AM by jtg117 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43640
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2017, 09:54:44 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 2 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 62
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2017, 09:57:33 AM »

Can you replicate issue with following settings:

1. Reset to factory default. (do not reload configuration file)
2. Disable Smart connect and set SSID name/password
3. Set WAN, QOS settings.(use speed test and set QoS UP/Down limit to 1mbit less)
4. Connect only 1 wireless device and set to priority.
5. Re-test

Logged

jtg117

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2017, 04:57:28 PM »

What region are you located?
USA, Texas
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
i have 2 devices plugged into the Ethernet ports of the router and 7 to 5 wireless devices at a time - In total you are looking at about 9 Devices in total at a time.
Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
no i did not perform any Factory resets, As as soon as UPS delivered the package I upgraded to latest firmware (1.03), and then I did basic configurations to device....Works absolutely fine with out the QoS
Summary:
1.05 QoS did not work
Rolled back to 1.03- Still didnt work.



Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

I have Spectrum 60down/5up - i Have a (SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Model SB6121) - Modem configurations are Default (whatever the technician from the isp left in there)
This is not a Wireless/Cable modem combo - Its just a modem.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?

Cable - Specturm

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Model SB6121


By the way on the pics when i mean reset i Mean rebooting the router
« Last Edit: October 27, 2017, 05:07:16 PM by jtg117 »
Logged

jtg117

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2017, 05:04:07 PM »

Can you replicate issue with following settings:

1. Reset to factory default. (do not reload configuration file)
2. Disable Smart connect and set SSID name/password
3. Set WAN, QOS settings.(use speed test and set QoS UP/Down limit to 1mbit less)
4. Connect only 1 wireless device and set to priority.
5. Re-test


Did this multiple times with only 1 wireless client. The router keeps disconnecting from the modem every 5-20 seconds.
like i said above, the router works perfectly. Until i use QoS feature from there everything goes downhill.

Update: Decided to upgrade again to 1.05b05 to test out the QoS - i "Somewhat" got it working.
So i tried agian, this time with 2 wireless devices and 1 wired ( I had smartconnect and 5ghz network disabled).
Device 1 Was to to medium priority , Speedtest.net resulsts = 10down/5up
Device 2 (was not on list QoS List) speedtest.net results 56mb/5up
Devices 3 (wired - not on QoS list) speedtest.net results 56mb/5up

There was network lag, but it was mimiinmal, Now as soon as other devices started connecting  to the router ( 5 additional devices - 8 Total) huge network lag was introduced. My connection dropped badly - other devices just disconnected from router and could not connect back.


« Last Edit: October 28, 2017, 07:22:08 AM by jtg117 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43640
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2017, 12:34:30 PM »

What is currently set for the WAN port speed? Auto or 1000Mb? Set 1000Mb if you haven't tried this.

I'll have D-Link come review this...
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 2 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 62
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2017, 09:04:22 AM »

Please explain what "network lag" means in your environment.

What bothers me is the intermittent WAN connection. Try manually setting the WAN port speed to 1000Mbit, as FurryNutz suggested. On your wired computer set a ping to 8.8.8.8 and router's IP with "-t" at the end of the command for continuous ping. When the issue is replicated the wired connection should not be be timing out. If we can get a stable wired connection, then we can figure out the other issues.

When the 2.4Ghz stops working, does it recover?
Logged

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 2 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 62
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2017, 12:32:14 PM »

Here is my Test setup:
-DIR-879L A1 1.05 default settings
-LG-G2 (wireless 2.4)
-Laptop DWA-160 N speed (wireless 2.4)
-WAN max speed 100/100mbit

-Disabled Smart Connect and 5ghz SSID
-QoS enabled with 40 down / 40 up

-LG-G2 set to Medium priority
-laptop set to High Priority

Speed Test results:
-LG-G2 = 35-39Mbit down and up.
-Laptop = 33-39Mbit down and up.

This setup has been running over the weekend  with 2 Youtube HD videos playing at the same time for each of the two computer connected via wireless 2.4ghz.

-No connection lost with 20 other devices connected on 2.4ghz, while running the speed test on the prioritized test computers.


Logged

jtg117

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2017, 01:56:55 AM »

Please explain what "network lag" means in your environment.

What bothers me is the intermittent WAN connection. Try manually setting the WAN port speed to 1000Mbit, as FurryNutz suggested. On your wired computer set a ping to 8.8.8.8 and router's IP with "-t" at the end of the command for continuous ping. When the issue is replicated the wired connection should not be be timing out. If we can get a stable wired connection, then we can figure out the other issues.

When the 2.4Ghz stops working, does it recover?

Network lag , By that I would mean, Ping times. Sometimes on WiFi Devices, I would get a ping response time of like 500-600ms. Webpages would take ages to load, but on wired Connections, it would be fine.

When the 2.4Ghz stops working, does it recover? I would have to say no, but I would just normally restart the router.

Here is my Test setup:
-DIR-879L A1 1.05 default settings
-LG-G2 (wireless 2.4)
-Laptop DWA-160 N speed (wireless 2.4)
-WAN max speed 100/100mbit

-Disabled Smart Connect and 5ghz SSID
-QoS enabled with 40 down / 40 up

-LG-G2 set to Medium priority
-laptop set to High Priority

Speed Test results:
-LG-G2 = 35-39Mbit down and up.
-Laptop = 33-39Mbit down and up.

This setup has been running over the weekend  with 2 Youtube HD videos playing at the same time for each of the two computer connected via wireless 2.4ghz.

-No connection lost with 20 other devices connected on 2.4ghz, while running the speed test on the prioritized test computers.


I decided to try the QoS Feature again and i think Setting the WAN port speed fixed the problem. So far ive been running it since 12AM - 3 hours later i still have not experience any WiFi disconnections so far or the router disconnecting from the modem....strange?

I think setting the WAN Port Speed fixed it? How though lol...This is such a random problem, Without configuring that setting, i had all sort of problems, now its working?  O.o?

Anyways! I'm returning the router. I just submitted a Return Request with amazon, BUT THE GOOD NEWS is im still buying another D-Link router...  :D
Either DIR-878 or DIR-880L or DIR-882 will be my next purchase, for the ability to install dd-wrt... ;D

Sadly the DIR 879 will never be support by dd-wrt  :'(



« Last Edit: November 01, 2017, 01:59:10 AM by jtg117 »
Logged

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 2 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 62
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #9 on: November 01, 2017, 08:24:44 AM »

Yea, 879 has a Realtek (RTL8194AR) chipset, which DD-WRT will not support.

The 882 is a little bit faster than the 880L/878. The 880L has been out longer in the market and DD-WRT community and plus mydlink cloud support. If you are going for the 882/878 make sure the wi-fi is stable with DD-wrt firmware.

880L = mimo 3x3, 2 cores 800mhz and 128mb ram
878 =  "        ''       2 cores 880mhz  and  128mb ram

882 = mimo 4x4, 2 cores 880mhz and 256mb ram.


Good luck!
« Last Edit: November 01, 2017, 08:42:30 AM by Gattsu »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43640
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Is QoS Broken? Doesn't seem to work....
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2017, 09:57:40 AM »

Seen compatibility issues before with some routers and modems with WAN port speed settings and Auto. I've always set 1000Mb on my routers since all the modems i've used are 1000Mb supporting on the RJ45 ports.

I'd go with the COVR 3903 or the 882-US. I'm enjoying the COVR currently. The COVR router is supposedly a DIR-883 model router...However is Qualcomm based. So not sure about 3rd party FW developments.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting