• April 18, 2024, 05:32:39 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Netflix Stalls (and Media Center)  (Read 7990 times)

JmsRyan

• Level 1 Member
Netflix Stalls (and Media Center)
« on: March 07, 2010, 06:17:12 PM »

I have been enjoying the DSM-520 for three months.  However, now that I have started using Netflix, I've encountered more "stalling" in the video streams. This happens occasionally on files on my HD, as well.

My desktop is running Vista 32-bit. I am on cable broadband (me and everyone else in the apartment complex). What I have is a 1.5Tb external drive connected to my desktop, which is connected to a Linksys Wireless-G router. This has worked well for general internet/filesharing purposes. I do have Norton Internet Security installed on the desktop.
Connected to the TV is a D-Link DSM-520 Media Center.  For the streaming videos, I have installed PlayOn (recommended by D-Link).

The PlayOn window occasionally shows my online bandwidth to be “low” (and sometimes CPU performance).  Of course, on the desktop, I run either the IE version, or Windows Media Center, and virtually never have a problem.

Do you think replacing/upgrading the router would be a solution?

I thought that I could access/run Windows Media Center from the DSM-520, too?
« Last Edit: March 08, 2010, 08:58:14 AM by JmsRyan »

ECF

• Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
Re: Netflix Stalls (and Media Center)
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2010, 11:12:42 AM »

Is the DSM-520 or PC connected wirelessly?
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

JmsRyan

• Level 1 Member
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2010, 11:25:30 AM »

The PC is connected to a Linksys 54G wireless...the 520 runs through that.