• April 19, 2024, 08:43:32 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: No WAN ping respond? Really? +More issues  (Read 4578 times)

DAOWAce

• Level 1 Member
No WAN ping respond? Really? +More issues
« on: March 06, 2015, 01:48:30 AM »

Preface: I'm not gonna talk that nicely about this router.
---

I finally switched out my old DGL-4100 for various reasons (issue troubleshooting here) for the new 5500, against my better judgement it seems.

I've have a network monitoring tool running that pings my IP from 3 different locations across the US. This lets me see how my connection is fairing across the internet in the US.  I've been using it since 2007.

First off, the router lacks WAN ping respond.  This is just unacceptable.  Numerous tools need WAN ping respond, and in my case, one that's very valuable to me.  This is the first router I've ever seen that lacked this option.  Why?

Second: The UI is absolutely atrocious.  It's laid out terribly, it has pointless animations that distract and waste time, it takes 5x longer to load the pages (and the graphical ones use 3D rendering and take even longer to load), it TIMES YOU OUT IN 3 MINUTES, the virtual server and port forward layout is absolutely atrocious compared to the 4100/4300/4500 routers (seriously, a set limit all shown at once vs something you can simply add rows to in one click?), the help system DOESN'T SHOW HELP for anything ("to be done.") except Streamboost, and just so much more. It's just.. horrid.  Absolutely horrid.  Granted the look of it is similar to the old routers, but the overall layout of everything, the way it functions and the complete lack of numerous features from the previous router that this succeeded is just abhorrent.