• April 25, 2024, 07:38:02 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Question on Raid 1, need advice  (Read 2693 times)

ckgraphic

• Level 1 Member
Question on Raid 1, need advice
« on: May 12, 2010, 09:44:03 PM »

Hi,
Good day to all. I am new to DNS-343, just got it yesterday. I am setting it up now. I will link this through Dlink Gigabit Switch with 10 other computers to access. This will act as our Network Storage. I have see problem for Large file management in this forum and worried on slow rate or not functioning properly.

My setting will be as below:
1. 4 x 2TB WD Hardisk have set to be Raid 1, now I can see Volume 1 and Volume 2.
2. Will there be a problem to connect to 10 PCs, if few PC open files and close file?
3. Setting to Raid 1, will it slow down open and save files?
4. Can DNS 343, "on" for long hour?
5. I have look through some setting, there is a Jumbo Frame Setting. Is that necessary to set it to 9000? Will it slow down system? or is it better to disable.
6. I have assign a static IP on this also, this is OK right?
7. Current fireware is 1.03, do I need to upgrade.
8. I have see many issue relating Raid 5 in this forum, is there anything I need to be careful for Raid 1, or it will be the same?

Thank you very much.

dcmwai

• Level 2 Member
Re: Question on Raid 1, need advice
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 08:57:10 AM »

Your issue is not the DNS-343 but rather the issue with HDD...

WDXXEARS is not supported yet...

So a solution for it is to repartitaion it.

But I do have to remind you that the WDXXEARS will not be as reliable as other enterprise HDD because it have it's TLER...

Hope that help.

nickl

• Level 1 Member
Re: Question on Raid 1, need advice
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2010, 04:33:07 AM »

dcmwai,