• February 02, 2023, 07:04:12 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New - DIR-645 v1.06 Build B01 FW Official Security Release - NA Region Only!  (Read 23385 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Get it here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63264.0

Let us now how it works for you...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

jclarkw

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93

Thanks!  Were it not for you, I'd still be on FW 1.04B13, the latest listed on the official download site (http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DIR-645)! -- jclarkw
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I was wondering when you'd be posting. LOL.
Yes, these are security patches so they may not appear on the main site. I presume if D-link doesn't do any more updates, it may not appear there unless they do post it. I hope they will though. Always check here in the forums or the security site for any updates. I presume they maybe the last one for the 645.   ::)

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

jclarkw

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93

>>Yes, these are security patches so they may not appear on the main site.<<


Furry -- Even though this is "only" a security, because it is listed as a major release (1.06B01 as opposed to 1.05B02), I suppose I must re-enter all my settings by hand instead of using a config file from v1.05B01.  Correct? -- jclarkw
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

You can try to load the config file and see how it works. I think you'd be ok doing that...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

user8446

  • Guest

Upgrading to 1.06 does not loose any of your config. but it's always a good idea to save it first.

As for D-Link not updating the firmware page, security patches are MORE important than improvements. Not posting it is leaving many users vulnerable.  I'll reach out to my contact to inquire.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

We recommend following the FW Update process linked in the sticky.
Users should be checking the security site as well for any updates for there router models as well as the main site. Posting to the main site maybe a convenience copy.
However just because there is a security issue doesn't mean that users are being effected by it. Users don't have to update and it's there choice.
"If it works, Don't fix it!"
However it is recommended.

Thanks for posting.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Hooked up the ol 645 today after loading v1.06 on it: 50/3 ISP


Will leave it online for while. Will do some xbox gaming on it this evening.

Disabled the WiFi radio as I have 2x AC class wired APs online.  ;D
« Last Edit: August 29, 2015, 01:21:25 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

jclarkw

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93

You can try to load the config file and see how it works. I think you'd be ok doing that...

Furry -- Finally got around to doing this upgrade (wife is away and not griping for the Internet...) and loaded the previous config file from FW105B01 as you suggested.  It appears to work fine; but I can't check everything, so...
1) Anything in particular I should look for that might indicate a problem?
2) What sorts of disasters occur with "major" upgrades using prior config files that led to your caution never to to this?
Thanks! -- jclarkw
« Last Edit: October 07, 2015, 09:04:24 PM by jclarkw »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Howdy, I ran my 645 for a bit a few weeks ago. Didn't see any issues with with it. I disabled the WiFi radio on it as I have a AC class WiFi AP set up for wifi. Router ran great for me.

Reason for recommending that FW update process is that we have seen some issues with config files being corrupt, misconfigured or incompatible with newer versions of FW since d-link may have changed enough in the FW that it causes config files to not work right and thus causes bad router behavior. Using config fiiles with in the same FW version is recommended.

Let us know how yours works for you. Still a good router. The AC class AP makes it even better, hehe.  ;D
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

jclarkw

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93

...Reason for recommending that FW update process is that we have seen some issues with config files being corrupt, misconfigured or incompatible with newer versions of FW since d-link may have changed enough in the FW that it causes config files to not work right and thus causes bad router behavior...

I guess you're saying, if it seems OK then it is OK.  Is that it?  Grins -- jclarkw
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Anything is possible Sir.  ;D
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

lukecz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1

Hi
What FW version do you suggest for users in Europe?
I want to try new fw because mi dir645 is disconnecting me from internet (for a moment, about 15-30 sec) every approx. 30min (computer connected to Dir 645 via lan, Dir 645 is connected to Technicolor 7200 cable modem/router which provides internet). If change of fw won't fix the problem, I'll write obout my problem in separate topic.
Thanks in advance

BTW strange thing, that I could view Dlink forum only at work, because at home I have message that IP is permanently banned at this forum :) (IP is from  UPC Polska company - a part of UPC Europe)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Link>Welcome!

  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Before upgrading...

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router


I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

If this fails to correct your issue then always get FW from this location:
http://www.dlink.com/uk/en/support/product/dir-645-wireless-n-home-router-1000

Please follow this to upgrade FW:
Link> >FW Update Process

Hi
What FW version do you suggest for users in Europe?
I want to try new fw because mi dir645 is disconnecting me from internet (for a moment, about 15-30 sec) every approx. 30min (computer connected to Dir 645 via lan, Dir 645 is connected to Technicolor 7200 cable modem/router which provides internet). If change of fw won't fix the problem, I'll write obout my problem in separate topic.
Thanks in advance

BTW strange thing, that I could view Dlink forum only at work, because at home I have message that IP is permanently banned at this forum :) (IP is from  UPC Polska company - a part of UPC Europe)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

user8446

  • Guest

That firmware link is for the older 1.05b01 firmware. Where is the FTP link for the 1.06?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2