• June 19, 2024, 03:46:10 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Streamboost issues  (Read 28662 times)

x2007

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Streamboost issues
« on: February 11, 2014, 06:15:33 AM »

Hi all- hoping for some help before returning new 5500 and going back to old 655 (which has been serving me well for over 7 years) or going with an ASUS.  I'm on the latest firmware (factory reset before and after), with minimal changes to settings.  Link speed is ~120/20.  Only one wired device connected

1.  Cannot get Streamboost to successfully perform a bandwidth test.  In browser (pressing test bandwidth) it says bandwidth test failed, and when enabling ABE, the status remains "Testing" (its been 2 days now) with no change in values

2.  When manually setting Streamboost bandwidth to 120/20, there is a significant discrepancy in speed tests- on the order of 20mbit down and around 5mbit up.  When SB disabled, speeds return to normal.  I can understand a few mbit, but 20 does not seem right with no other devices/traffic on the network.  It does improve when overshooting the bandwidth settings- is this somehow intentional?

3.  My administrative password sometimes resets to blank when restarting the router or simply changing some settings!!  At least the CAPTCHA still works with no password?

I've tried reflashing the firmware with no luck.  Any advice is appreciated- I want to believe

  thanks for looking
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2014, 06:55:03 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired LAN PC while testing.
  • Disable any downloading client software managers, i.e. Torrents or similar.

Any network traffic such as streaming or gaming could prevent SB from completing the test...

Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

x2007

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2014, 07:35:44 AM »

Located in the Southeast with Comcast Cable- i have their Extreme tier service paired with a new Motorola SB6141 modem.  Did not use any saved configurations during testing

Also made sure there was no other traffic during bandwidth tests, and tried different browsers just in case (though this would not explain ABE failing).  Its strange, sometimes the bar moves a little bit and then stops, but most of the time it doesnt move at all and instantly fails.  This is both during the initial setup wizard after a factory restart and afterwards.  I may try an older firmware to see if it resolves the issue, but would hate to lose out on some of the more recent fixes
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2014, 07:38:32 AM »

Any chance you could be effected by this?

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53849.0

Your on a 120/20 ISP Speed package, I'm wondering since SB only seems to support 100/10 if this could be an issue here...  :-\

You might disable SB and ABE and run some speed tests...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

x2007

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2014, 08:27:56 AM »

It looks like Comcast shut down the Domain Helper Service:  http://corporate.comcast.com/comcast-voices/comcast-domain-helper-shuts-down.  I've also tried with OpenDNS and still get failed bandwidth tests (ABE).

SB disabled gives me perfect speeds.  Additionally, if i manually input higher values (i.e. 140/40) it gives me good speeds as well- so i may just leave it there, but want to know if this is intentional.  Would also like to get ABE working for potential higher-traffic periods (i.e. evenings)

LAstly, I'm not sure about the admin password bug, but i did see some threads where people have reported it with other routers as well.  hopefully this is fixed in next F/W
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2014, 08:42:40 AM »

I'll forward this to D-Link and see if there is any limitations on ABE working with higher speeds than 100/10. I think you might be the first user to report something like this having those higher speeds. I know ABE works for me at 50/3.  ::)


I haven't had any issues with the PW on this router. I've tested some complex ones as well.

How many characters are you using? Any special characters?

Can you test with just using 5500 as the PW and see if the problem presents itself again?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

x2007

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2014, 08:47:55 AM »

Thanks- I'll try a different password- my current password does have a period at the end which may be the issue
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2014, 09:03:55 AM »

I've asked D-Link to review this...

Let us know about the PW...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2014, 09:10:43 AM »

I'd like to ask any other users if they have similar ISP speeds that are the same or over the 100/10 speed seen on the 5500 router to report there test results. We presume that ABE and SB speed tests should complete on its own with in a short period of time.

I'm using 50/3 on Cable and tests complete for me.

Any one at 100/10 ISP speeds or above?  ???
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

x2007

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2014, 12:00:33 PM »

Ran some tests over lunch:  Same ABE issue with firmware 1.10.  Additionally password problem persisted even when using "5500"  :-\
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2014, 12:06:23 PM »


Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection

Can you update to v1.11NA and test again using the following:
FW Update Process

Ran some tests over lunch:  Same ABE issue with firmware 1.10.  Additionally password problem persisted even when using "5500"  :-\
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

B.Banner

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2014, 07:48:51 PM »

This used to happen to me but only on the initial setup.  When this would happen I would login to the router with a blank password and input only the captcha.  Once logged in I would then change the password once more and on the second time it would stay changed.  I have never seen it revert to a blank password after setting it twice though.
Logged

x2007

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2014, 05:55:53 AM »

This used to happen to me but only on the initial setup.  When this would happen I would login to the router with a blank password and input only the captcha.  Once logged in I would then change the password once more and on the second time it would stay changed.  I have never seen it revert to a blank password after setting it twice though.

Thanks for this- will need to do some additional testing- I've been flashing firmware and resetting a lot so this could certainly be the case

Also another question for you, I noticed you recommend WPA while the management interface calls out WPA2/AES for best performance.  Did you find WPA2 affecting wireless?  I haven't made it to wireless testing yet, but will post what I find as well
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2014, 06:49:46 AM »

If you could run a few tests between WPA/TPIK and WPA2/AES and post your results...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

B.Banner

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Streamboost issues
« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2014, 11:28:35 AM »

Thanks for this- will need to do some additional testing- I've been flashing firmware and resetting a lot so this could certainly be the case

Also another question for you, I noticed you recommend WPA while the management interface calls out WPA2/AES for best performance.  Did you find WPA2 affecting wireless?  I haven't made it to wireless testing yet, but will post what I find as well

Ooops I forgot the 2 on my optimal settings topic lol.  I use WPA2.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3