• June 19, 2024, 03:39:26 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: game detection  (Read 7859 times)

riggs540

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
game detection
« on: September 04, 2013, 03:20:46 AM »

Just got my dgl-5500 and noticed a few things with the streamboost.

It detect teamspeak client as a game/voice which was good.

I tried bf3 , iracing ,total war rome 1 and 2 . None of these games showed up as at least game/voice (was hoping it would say what game was being played as shown in earlier video's).

All games i tried came up as general traffic.

Having owned a bigfoot network card in the past and it detected every game right eg priority 1  .I was surprised that games like bf3 isn't in the streamboost database as standard.

Looking forward to more streamboost updates in the future , I'm hoping all games will come up with what game it is in the ui but if its put as game/voice label it will be better than nothing. :)



Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: game detection
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2013, 07:34:16 AM »

      Link>
Welcome!
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.

What platform are these games? PC or console? If console, which one?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

riggs540

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: game detection
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2013, 11:42:45 AM »

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

    What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? dsl
    What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? hg612
    What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? 80/20
    Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values mtu value 1492
    For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled. ON


Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.

    Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual. ON
    Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench Will try it , dont normally use it
    Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
    Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address. All my ip on the network are static.


Yeah all games are on the pc , havent tried the xbox's yet.


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: game detection
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2013, 11:53:34 AM »

What region are you located?

  • If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

"Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address. All my ip on the network are static." Do you mean On the router or ON the devices?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

riggs540

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: game detection
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2013, 12:13:41 PM »

1.yeah its a fully transparent bridge ,the is the modem supplied for bt infinity which is in the uk.

2.All devices in the house are set on static ip.

I used to have all the dgl range , but went over the wd n900 as they had the most powerful ubicom router (ip8200 series), there system qos  was fasttrack plus which worked well but you couldnt see what the router was doing .

I got this one so i could see what the qos system was doing on the network .Ive checked it with steam  youtube 1080p and just done a xbox which it can see everything going on in the my network settings so its working well .

Im just going to try team fortress 2 as this was there demo game at ces

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: game detection
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2013, 12:17:28 PM »

1.yeah its a fully transparent bridge ,the is the modem supplied for bt infinity which is in the uk.
Be aware if you are located in the EU:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=55110.0

2.All devices in the house are set on static ip.
Try using reserved IP addresses on the router and set the devices to automatic obtain IP addressing.

I used to have all the dgl range , but went over the wd n900 as they had the most powerful ubicom router (ip8200 series), there system qos  was fasttrack plus which worked well but you couldnt see what the router was doing .

I got this one so i could see what the qos system was doing on the network .Ive checked it with steam  youtube 1080p and just done a xbox which it can see everything going on in the my network settings so its working well .

Im just going to try team fortress 2 as this was there demo game at ces


Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

riggs540

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: game detection
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2013, 12:43:15 PM »

Hi again,

Yeah i know the risk but ive been waiting since they brought it out at ces , so when i found out it wasnt coming to uk for now i wasnt to happy. >:(

Ok ive just tried tf2 on the pc and its picks it up fine , so its just streamboost not picking bf3 up as a game.

I think i saw in the logs streamboost is version 1.8.3 atm.

Its really working pretty well  :)

Roll on more streamboost updates ! going off to try more games

Is there anyway of stopping the router login out to quickly ,been trying to watch traffic and it keeps logging out to soon
« Last Edit: September 04, 2013, 12:45:05 PM by riggs540 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: game detection
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2013, 12:48:45 PM »

We've asked for more time. I know that sometimes I've noticed that if your watching a device status, it lasts a bit longer, however this could be dependent upon different browsers and how they handle the time out feature which can't be changed and is a form of security requirement that D-Link has to adhere too I believe to get certifications.  :-\
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.