• May 27, 2024, 04:05:38 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: DGL-5500 StreamBoost and ISP Speed Problems  (Read 41508 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
DGL-5500 StreamBoost and ISP Speed Problems
« on: August 03, 2013, 02:10:58 PM »

For those seeing less than reported ISP speeds when using the DGL-5500, please post your results here.

Please list the following in your post please:
ISP Service, i.e. Cable, DSL, No modem or Fiber
ISP Modem Mfr and Model # that router is connected to:
ISP Speed you pay for UP and DOWN that you should be getting, i.e. 50Down/2Up:
Speed results reporting on the DGL-5500:
Test results of by passing the DGL-5500, disabling StreamBoost or testing of other routers or a PC directly connected to the Modem.

Thank You.

« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 07:01:39 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

dm2g23

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoost and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2013, 02:31:34 PM »

ISP Service,  Cable
Modem Mfr: Motorola
Model: SB6121
ISP Speed I pay for 100Down and  5UP
Test results with the DGL-5500:85.90Down and 4.32UP
Test results of by passing the DGL-5500, disabling StreamBoost  100.04Down and 5.45UP
« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 07:01:50 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2013, 02:36:14 PM »

What are they when SB is enabled?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

dm2g23

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2013, 02:41:50 PM »

85.90Down and 4.32UP
Logged

DaKon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2013, 06:14:23 PM »

I really don't think there is a problem here.  I think that this is part of the intelligent bandwidth and ping control of the Qualcomm chip. 

My bet it is maintaining a reserve, in case a network device pull a demand request, and it can fulfill it without any lag issues for other network users.
Logged

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2013, 06:18:06 PM »

I really don't think there is a problem here.  I think that this is part of the intelligent bandwidth and ping control of the Qualcomm chip. 

My bet it is maintaining a reserve, in case a network device pull a demand request, and it can fulfill it without any lag issues for other network users.

That's actually a pretty intelligent guess. I just wish if that was the case someone from dlink would say so lol.
Logged

djid10t

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2013, 06:43:40 PM »

I really don't think there is a problem here.  I think that this is part of the intelligent bandwidth and ping control of the Qualcomm chip. 

My bet it is maintaining a reserve, in case a network device pull a demand request, and it can fulfill it without any lag issues for other network users.

I was going to post something almost exactly like this.  If you have devices on you network that are pulling even a few kbps you will not get you full advertised speeds.  Try to do the test without any devices connected and SB enabled and see what happens.  I have tried this and I have been getting full speeds without other devices connected.
Logged
DGL-5500, DGL-4500, DIR-825(Running DD-WRT), DAP-1350, DI-524 - XBOX 360, XBOX One, Alienware m11x r2, m14x, Dell Venue Pro 8 tablet

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2013, 08:25:02 PM »

I was going to post something almost exactly like this.  If you have devices on you network that are pulling even a few kbps you will not get you full advertised speeds.  Try to do the test without any devices connected and SB enabled and see what happens.  I have tried this and I have been getting full speeds without other devices connected.

I've never had to worry about that in the past though.  I've had countless devices connected to my 4500 and it would get over 150 down without fail every single time. 

my results with SB enabled



my results without it

« Last Edit: August 03, 2013, 08:31:58 PM by dyvurcz »
Logged

dm2g23

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2013, 10:42:20 PM »

I change the IP address on the router and my computer to put them on the same network still get the same result.
Logged

mrtuneup2

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2013, 08:39:23 AM »

I have the same problems with SpeedBoost On.  I pay for 15Meg down and 3Meg up.  I consistently get 14.4Meg down & 2.85Meg up.  With SpeedBoost on it drops to 12.6Meg down & 2.4Meg up.  When I turn it off it goes right back up to 14.4Meg down & 2.85Meg up.  Hope this helps . . .  I wonder if this is a bug and will be fixed in a future software update?
Logged

mrtuneup2

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2013, 08:44:26 AM »

ISP Service,  SkyBeam Wireless Broadband
Modem Mfr: SkyBeam Wireless Antenna System
Model: N/A
ISP Speed I pay for 15Down and  3UP
Test results with the DGL-5500:12.6Down and 2.4UP
Test results of by passing the DGL-5500, disabling StreamBoost  14.4Down and 3.85UP
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2013, 09:43:07 AM »

I have forwarded this to D-Link for review. Please be patient.

Thank you.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

BiggShooter

  • Guest
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2013, 05:29:50 PM »

I just had CenturyLink VDSL service set up (40Mb down / 5Mb up).  I'm using an Actiontec C1000A modem.  I have DISABLED WIRELESS and put the [Actiontec C1000A] modem in "TRANSPARENT BRIDGE" mode.  I ran a speed test via Speedtest.net.  My speeds were 37.50Mb down / 4.6Mb up.

I configured the DGL-5500 for PPPoE and connected it to the Actiontec C1000A modem (wireless disabled / transparent bridge mode).  I ran a speed test via Speedtest.net and noticed a significant drop in speeds (17.50Mb down / 1.95Mb up), which was what I was getting with my cable internet (subscribed to 20Mb down / 2Mb up).

I decided to DISABLE STREAMBOOST BANDWIDTH CONTROL and test via Speedtest.org.  My speeds jumped back up to 37.50Mb down / 4.6Mb up.

I went back and ENABLED STREAMBOOST BANDWIDTH CONTROL and had intermittent internet connection to all my networked devices (wired / wireless).  I noticed the router was slow and unresponsive when I attempted to log back in.  I attempted to click on MY NETWORKS and received the following prompt (error?) at the top of the screen:  This page is used for StreamBoost. Click here to set up
StreamBoost.  When I clicked on "here", I was brought to the STREAMBOOST page.  Everything WAS SET to DEFAULT (ENABLE STREAMBOOST BANDWIDTH CONTROL - CHECKED).  I did a restart.  In fact, I did several restarts and when selecting MY NETWORKS, I get the same prompt (error?) message indicating I need to set up Streamboost.

I decided to reset the DGL-5500 to factory default.  I ran the setup wizard and ran a speed test.  I noticed my speeds were close to my subscribed 40Mb down / 5mb up.  I selected MY NETWORKS and got the same prompt (error?) message.

I'M STUMPED!  Is anyone else having issues with this?  Can anyone offer other troubleshooting support?

Hopefully I've provided enough info.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2013, 05:41:17 PM »

Was ALL the devices connected to the router OFF while you were setting up the router?
After you configured the PPPoE on the router, did you power off both Modem and router, then power ON the modem first, then the router? Then test?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

BiggShooter

  • Guest
Re: DGL-5500 StreamBoot and ISP Speed Problems
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2013, 05:43:15 PM »

Was ALL the devices connected to the router OFF while you were setting up the router?
After you configured the PPPoE on the router, did you power off both Modem and router, then power ON the modem first, then the router? Then test?


Oops!   ::)  I will TRY again and do it the correct way.   8)  Stay tuned  :)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4