• May 28, 2024, 10:35:51 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Cannot reliably get IP addresses  (Read 4909 times)

PoppaSan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Cannot reliably get IP addresses
« on: June 02, 2015, 06:15:42 PM »

Am on my second DGL-5500 in a week.  First one failed out of the box with power supply issues.  This one is keeping me busy with nagging issues.  Running FW 1.12.   DSL modem / router bridged.  Upgraded(?) from a WD MynetN600 which worked slowly for several years but was beginning to have reliability issues.  I went DLink for the Streamboost option.  I have 3 teens with 5 tablets, 3 laptops, 4 phones, a desktop hard wired, Roku stick, and a BD along with Xbox, WII, and PS4.  At one point after about 6 hours of setup we did have pretty much every one of our devices connected and functioning properly.
My first disappointment was unable to plug my 3TB HDD in to use as a network drive.  I see now that a 1TB drive is about the max.  I have been able to adapt by using the Mynet in access mode on a static address as a NAS.  I did this several days after swapping routers.  Unless this is the source of my problems, I can live with this arrangement. 
Second was we could not in any way get the Xbox on line.  I could not get the router to pass out an IP address.  We compensated by using a static IP for the Xbox.
Now we have the biggie.  As the wireless devices turn off and on, they have been unable to get an IP that will allow internet access.  Other devices at this time are online functioning as anticipated.  The DHCP should be handing out numbers in the 192.168.0.100-199 range,  The first three digits, when we can't connect, start with 172.xxx.xxx.xxx.  The first set of digits appear to be in the range our WAN shows which tells me they are coming from our ISP's DHCP.  If we use static addressing, forcing the first three sets of digits to be 192.168.0.xxx, we have no problem.  Even reserving the addresses on the DHCP list fail.  We sometimes were able early on to switch to the other WIFI network to get an address.  Now that doesn't work.  Nor does cycling power on the router.  Switching to static works for the devices that stay home but the stuff we take to work / school / public WIFI need a bit more flexibility. 
Can someone tell me which check box I need to set before I consider this a second failure in my second try.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Cannot reliably get IP addresses
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2015, 05:08:38 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

What is the WAN IP address that the 5500 gets from the ISP modem? 192.168 or 172.? or a public IP address of ##.##.###.##?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

PoppaSan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Cannot reliably get IP addresses
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2015, 07:05:40 PM »

Nailed the main issue with the addressing.  Seems another old router which had been turned into an access point had been re-enabled as a router.  It was passing out addresses also.  Haven't figured out which of my IT wannabees to blame yet but only one has the admin password.  A few other bugs to swat down yet.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Cannot reliably get IP addresses
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2015, 07:11:18 AM »

  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

PoppaSan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Cannot reliably get IP addresses
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2015, 05:00:02 PM »

US region, Centurytel DSL, CenturyLink 660 series modem EQ660R-F1 ADSL:

New issue since last missive.  Everytime the power cycles to the modem wether it is turned off then on or a power line issue, the router locks up.  No wifi, no hardwire.  Lights are green.  Sometimes IP address3es are handed out, usually not.  Unable to access 192.168.0.1 from any method.  I need to reset to factory and reconfigure everything.  I have about had it with this.  I may just send it back and move on to other manufacturers for this is too unreliable.  Streamboost software is not worth this hassle. 
« Last Edit: June 14, 2015, 05:01:42 PM by PoppaSan »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Cannot reliably get IP addresses
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2015, 07:25:50 AM »

Is the modem in main modem mode or bridge mode?
Your ISP modem has NAT I believe.
Also it's a bit old, so you may want to try a different modem.

Try setting the WAN port speed to manual 10 or 100Mb on the 5500...

What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Cannot reliably get IP addresses
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2015, 07:51:41 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

US region, Centurytel DSL, CenturyLink 660 series modem EQ660R-F1 ADSL:

New issue since last missive.  Everytime the power cycles to the modem wether it is turned off then on or a power line issue, the router locks up.  No wifi, no hardwire.  Lights are green.  Sometimes IP address3es are handed out, usually not.  Unable to access 192.168.0.1 from any method.  I need to reset to factory and reconfigure everything.  I have about had it with this.  I may just send it back and move on to other manufacturers for this is too unreliable.  Streamboost software is not worth this hassle.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.