• March 28, 2024, 09:52:07 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Newbie here needs some advice on hard disks  (Read 3577 times)

2haven

• Level 1 Member
Newbie here needs some advice on hard disks
« on: March 27, 2010, 11:18:34 AM »

Hi guys, I've just got myself a DNS323 (v1.08) but have not gotten hard disks for it yet. Have a few questions regarding this device hope you guys can help!

1. I intend to get a 1TB Hitachi disk,and start transferring my files into in. A few months later, I'd get another of the same disk and configure it as RAID1 to backup my first disk. Is this possible and will I encounter any data integrity problems when trying to do this?

2. Lets say a few years down the road I ran out of space and would like to get a bigger capacity disk. Can I simply unplug one disk from the device, slot the bigger capacity one in and expect the device to mirror the data to the newer disk ???

gunrunnerjohn

• Level 11 Member
Re: Newbie here needs some advice on hard disks
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2010, 11:46:43 AM »

First off, RAID is NOT backup!  The only purpose of RAID in this box is to allow continued access in the event of a hard disk failure.

If you want backup, use a real backup, but don't count on RAID as a backup.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

fordem

• Level 10 Member
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 03:42:07 PM »

Hi guys, I've just got myself a DNS323 (v1.08) but have not gotten hard disks for it yet. Have a few questions regarding this device hope you guys can help!