• July 13, 2024, 10:02:02 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR=655 Issue and fix  (Read 8355 times)

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
DIR=655 Issue and fix
« on: August 17, 2014, 06:39:44 AM »

Just wanted to drop this out there as it helped me and is commonly cited in these halls as a possible remedy.
I have Charter cable ISP and currently get 30mbps dl speed. Last month we have had major issues with Charter equipment along our rural road, but now fixed. So, yesterday when the speed dropped to single digits I immediately called Charter. They said everything looked fine, from their end to my modem. I pulled the 655 out of service, connected desktop to Arris modem and speeds were holding at 30. Router back in, speeds down. Restored my config file to router, no change. Put another router in place and speeds were great.
So then the advice to reset to factory and manually reconfigure came to mind and all is now well. I was thinking that this old router was going to need replaced.
I think that many folks dread this step because you have to know all of your existing settings to be able to easily reconfigure. Imagine if there was an option in the router to "save to file" any altered from default settings, so it could be printed out. Hey Dlink, maybe you could have someone look into that.
Good luck to all.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2014, 12:07:27 PM »

You can save the routers configuration to file under Tools/System. That feature has been there for a long time now.  ;D

Just wanted to drop this out there as it helped me and is commonly cited in these halls as a possible remedy.
I have Charter cable ISP and currently get 30mbps dl speed. Last month we have had major issues with Charter equipment along our rural road, but now fixed. So, yesterday when the speed dropped to single digits I immediately called Charter. They said everything looked fine, from their end to my modem. I pulled the 655 out of service, connected desktop to Arris modem and speeds were holding at 30. Router back in, speeds down. Restored my config file to router, no change. Put another router in place and speeds were great.
So then the advice to reset to factory and manually reconfigure came to mind and all is now well. I was thinking that this old router was going to need replaced.
I think that many folks dread this step because you have to know all of your existing settings to be able to easily reconfigure. Imagine if there was an option in the router to "save to file" any altered from default settings, so it could be printed out. Hey Dlink, maybe you could have someone look into that.
Good luck to all.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2014, 07:28:06 AM »

Right, and I do, but it is only helpful if you use it to restore settings, but NOT if you manually install them. I've opened the file with a text editor but too much is there to be helpful. It would be a dream to have only those settings changed from default show in a printable file, or be bolded so that they could be easily changed when resetting.
Also, this from an earlier thread, the date wandering in the 2.11 firmware is still occurring. Sometimes its way off, other times just an hour. Any chance that a newer firmware can address this?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2014, 07:43:05 AM »

Well you could have a default config file, then after setting up the router for your needs, then do a save to file then right after your done configuring the router.

Remember this? http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=59527.0

Unless there is a major security issue, I don't think any new FW will be coming for the Rev B router.  :-\
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2014, 11:16:56 AM »

Yes, very well but what I'm saying is that the time fuction still wanders off by hours or days.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2014, 11:51:18 AM »

It that may not be fixed...I'll ask about it.  ;)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2014, 10:56:07 AM »

Well, thought things were fixed. Got to seeing a drop in download speed again and once again removed 655 from the equation and speed gets back to full. It may just be time for a complete replacement, as I'm not about to reconfigure this thing from scratch once a week or even monthly. Any ideas?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2014, 11:13:30 AM »

Do you still have the Arris TM822G ISP modem?

Do you still have your DIR-825?

Would you try the following?
Download v2.03 from the web site.
Do a save router config v2.11 to file using IE or FF.
Factory reset, load the .bin file, factory reset and apply the config file. I normally wouldn't have you use the config file, however this might save some time on yoru behalf if you don't want to set up the router from scratch. It may not work using a more recent generated config file on a older loaded version of FW. So you might have to factory reset and set up from scratch and save a new v2.03 config file.

If the v2.03 FW still exhibits the problem, could be a HW issue or an ISP issue. Would need to test the router at different location with different ISP modem if possible..

Well, thought things were fixed. Got to seeing a drop in download speed again and once again removed 655 from the equation and speed gets back to full. It may just be time for a complete replacement, as I'm not about to reconfigure this thing from scratch once a week or even monthly. Any ideas?
« Last Edit: September 17, 2014, 11:24:31 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2014, 07:46:09 AM »

I don't still have the old dlink but I do have another router. I was wanting to flash back to the last version that I had no problems with but wasn't sure that was a good idea. I have company here now so don't want to interrupt wifi but will in a few days.
Yes on the modem.
Yesterday I connected directly to the arris and was back to full speed, BUT when I reconnected to the dlink the full speed stayed. It wasn't rebooted. Odd.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2014, 07:50:49 AM »

Hmmm maybe something on ur PC maybe?  ???

Just FYI, not sure if the TIME problem on Rev B will ever be fixed. Sorry.  :-\

Try to test the 655 at a different location if you can at some point..

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2014, 07:53:03 AM »

Hmmm maybe something on ur PC maybe?  ???

Just FYI, not sure if the TIME problem on Rev B will ever be fixed. Sorry.  :-\

Try to test the 655 at a different location if you can at some point..

Keep us posted.
Well, the speeds have been fine for a few days. I wonder if the issue could be between the arris and the 655 as plugging the modem into PC directly gave good results, then back into the 655 and results stayed good.
The time bug is not a big deal, just floats off a bit once in a while.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2014, 10:08:54 AM »

Not a fan of Arris branded modems.  :-\

From what I know, you could try to ask for an RMA, they might exchange it for a Rev C. Might depend on waranty status...not sure on that though.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2014, 07:38:48 AM »

Speeds have stayed at the top for a while now but this morning noticed that the routers time was off by 12 hours, showing PM instead of AM. The time thing sure is strange.
Your comment about RMA, are you referring to the Arris or my 655? The modem is ISP provided, and the 655 is way beyond warranty.
Charter is saying that they are going to double our speeds (30 to 60 mbps) this month so will be watching how this equipment handles that move.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR=655 Issue and fix
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2014, 08:13:33 AM »

The 655 router.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.