• April 16, 2021, 03:55:11 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app  (Read 343 times)

Mike25

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« on: March 24, 2021, 08:42:14 AM »

Please forgive me if this is in the wrong area to post.

I am trying to change the wifi for six of my DCS-936L cameras and one DCS-2630L. They have been on the same wifi for several years but now I want to move them to a separate IoT wifi connection.

In both apps the Wi-Fi setting is greyed out for each camera and I can't select it. Everything else in the menu I can toggle. On the mydink+ app (the old app) it says my iPhone needs to be connected to the same wifi as the cameras. I am 100% certain I am connected to the same wifi (my regular home 2G network).  Within the newer mydlink app, when I click on Wifi, it says it's connecting and then gives the message: Error - Connection error.

I have tried everything and can't figure this out. In the past if I took a camera with me, (a baby cam) I was able to make the wifi change rather easily.

Please let me know if you have any ideas.

Thank you,
Mike
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49576
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2021, 08:03:43 AM »

Have you tried logging into the cameras web page to change wifi settings there?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Mike25

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2021, 09:22:34 AM »

Thank you the response. I had not tried that as I was under the impression D-Link no longer worked on web. They had said it would only be possible to manage cameras from the APP as of 12/31/20. Is there something I am missing? When I went to D-Link it says Chrome is not supported.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49576
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2021, 09:58:15 AM »

I believe that's only with the newer 8000 series cameras. All older models support web based UI. I know my 936L did up until it died on me. Can't get it to connect anymore. I need to try again on something.  I can still access my 933 and 960 UIs.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Mike25

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2021, 10:13:31 AM »

Do you have to use an old version of a browser? When I go to mydlink.com it says my browsers and OS are not supported. I have MacOS Big Sur and Chrome. Up until Dlink stopped supporting flash, I had to use an old version of Firefox just to log in over the web.

Am I missing something? Are you logging in using a web browser?

I have 6 936Lís and a DCS 2630-L.

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49576
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2021, 10:25:16 AM »

I use Firefox v52.9 seems to work to get connected to older cameras.
IE11 as well if you can find a Windows PC.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2241
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2021, 11:35:44 AM »

There's a reset button your camera. You have to do that first.

Then connect your computer wifi to that camera's wifi. (Listen on the stick, and that also has the password!)

You should be able to log into the camera's webpages.  You might have to look up on your laptop to find what the network is. 10.0.0.x?... you'll find the ip address to goto in the web browser.

Then change the network settings in there to your new network.

Logged

Mike25

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2021, 11:50:46 AM »

Gotcha. I am trying to avoid resetting them because several are installed in very high places. That would probably work, but it is strange that I canít do it through the app as I did in the past. Now that WiFi setting is saying Iím not connected to the same network as the camera which is not the case.

I thought I had read somewhere that d-link was slowly taking away functionality in order to force customers to subscribe to their cloud service. But I canít find that article now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49576
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2021, 02:06:11 PM »

Ya you should be able to connect the there web pages fine to change settings.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2241
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2021, 05:01:19 PM »


I thought I had read somewhere that d-link was slowly taking away functionality in order to force customers to subscribe to their cloud service. But I canít find that article now.


There's no more updates on the older cameras anymore.  The newer stuff should be as described.

Still plenty of older cameras in the supply chains.
Logged

Mike25

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2021, 08:59:49 PM »

Just wanted to report back that I was able to just type in the IP address on Safari and the web UI came up. I was able to change all the wifi settings and set them up on a new IoT network. Not sure why it stopped working in the APP but I am all set. Thank you to all here for the sound advice.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49576
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't Change WIfi for Cameras in mydlink or mydlink+ app (RESOLVED)
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2021, 09:28:21 PM »

Awesome. Glad you were able to get them configured.
Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.