• April 26, 2024, 01:17:51 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-615 vA1 Won't (apparently) Broadcast or go into "Wireless" Mode  (Read 9496 times)

kwright

I'm new to the wireless networking world, but not new to computers in general.

I just bought a gently used 615 wireless router (version A1), I'm told is about six months or so old.  The previous owner claims this unit was working fine when he swapped it out due to a change is his broadband service that wasn't compatible with his home network.  I have no reason to disbelieve him.

My setup:  Dell desktop running Windows XP w/SP2.  My broadband is provided via wireless antenna to the house, routed though a service-provider box, which connected to the PC via an Ethernet cable & internal card.

Installing the 615 went fine, I connected the 615 between the incoming Ethernet cable and the PC (plugged in outlet #1), and the 615-supplied CD-based process worked as expected.  I rebooted everything and my internet connection came back on though the router, as I would expect with no problems so far of any kind with basic internet connectivity.  The lights on the front of the router, per the CD-based operators manual operate as I would also expect, EXCEPT possibly the wireless indicator.  As this is a new experience for me, I'm not exactly sure how the wireless light is intended to work.