• October 17, 2018, 09:54:59 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Blinking Red on DCS-960L  (Read 2126 times)

archproject

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« on: June 29, 2017, 05:46:04 AM »

Hi there, anybody can you please help me with this. I bought 2 DCS-960L and i was setting up the first camera i followed instructions and i got it to work then when I connect to mydlink account from my phone it asked me to upgrade firmware and I click upgrade. then after sometime it gave me an error "timed out" and I can see the camera was offline from the mobile app plus the led status was blinking Red. so i tried the below
1) removed the device from mydlink account (successful)
2) reset the device by pressing the reset button (pinhole) for 6 sec - 10 sec (unsuccessful)
3) reset the device by unplugging the power and then while holding the reset pinhole i plug in the power supply and kept pressing the reset pinhole for about 10 seconds (unsuccessful) - the led of the device turned off after I did this and I waited for a more than 5 mins and still the led wont turn on.

Is there anyway to flash the firmware of this device manually by connecting it to my pc ? is there any way at all.

Regards
Archproject
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2017, 08:56:18 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

I recommend setting up the cameras first. Avoid doing any FW updates. When and if you have all cameras set up. Manually download any FW update files and use IE11 or FF to manually send the FW file to the camera with a wired LAN cable PC connected to the main host router with the cameras in short range distance of the router. Be sure wireless signal is good between the camera and main host router before sending FW updates.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rjj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2018, 10:30:45 AM »

Hi,

 I´m having the same issue. Please how do you fixed the problem?

Tks
« Last Edit: August 17, 2018, 10:41:24 AM by rjj »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2018, 11:14:01 AM »

I recommend setting up the cameras first. Avoid doing any FW updates. When and if you have all cameras set up. Manually download any FW update files and use IE11 or FF to manually send the FW file to the camera with a wired LAN cable PC connected to the main host router with the cameras in short range distance of the router. Be sure wireless signal is good between the camera and main host router before sending FW updates.

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.



Hi,

 I´m having the same issue. Please how do you fixed the problem?

Tks
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rjj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2018, 11:23:35 AM »

FurryNutz,

The upgrade was a Cloud offer so Dlink should fix that and stop offering upgrades if it bugs the camera.

Also there isn’t Brasil phone support so I am looking here for tips and procedures that can help to fix by myself on expedite way.

Please do you have any tips to solve this? Why reset button is not working?  My guess looks like software upgrade crash in there and bug previous software  so there isn’t a good image to get the system up and running.

Tks
« Last Edit: August 17, 2018, 11:25:30 AM by rjj »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2018, 11:46:25 AM »

In that case you'll need to contact them via email.
Link> Tech Support Contact Information

Each region does different things and seem to be semi independent from the main office or here in the USA.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rjj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2018, 01:38:39 PM »

Thanks! I´ve found Brazil phone into shared link but it´s frustrating due it needs RMA.

Cloud upgrade offer is a bad joke due it crash the system image and camera can´t get back online.

 :-\

 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2018, 01:42:17 PM »

Wireless FW upgrade works and should work. I updated mine using wireless upgrade with my phone.

One thing you need to make sure is that wireless cameras have a good quality wifi signal with the main host wifi base. If the signal is poor or low and if you attempt a FW update, this could cause problems and cause the camera to be come non responsive. The signal needs to be good between the camera and source wifi. When in doubt, put the camera with in 6 feet of the main wifi source before doing any FW updates.

I hope D-Link Brazil will help you out.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rjj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2018, 01:53:25 PM »

I have different point of view due independent the network conditions it should NEVER crash and impact current image so it looks like there is big issue and that is SPOF when upgrade cameras.
Also I´ve professional wifi network in home using Fortinet products and 100Mb fiber Internet link that carry videoconference traffic on 720p every-day since 2 years ago so I´m sure the network and Internet link are not the case here.

The e-commerce is going to replace the camera it means more 5 days waiting for and without internal monitoring who is a major issue nowadays.

Also, it should have a warning into quick start  and manuals in order to drive upgrades/updates manualy instead Cloud due it looks like that I´m not alone locked into this issue. It´s frustrating...

 
« Last Edit: August 17, 2018, 01:56:02 PM by rjj »
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1405
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2018, 02:00:27 PM »

How to crash recover (from the vendor):

1. Hold in reset button, unplug power and plug back in while holding it for 10 seconds.
2. Wait about a minute. This will automatically enter "rescueCam" mode.
3. Please a client to find SSID: rescue-Cam-XXXX (xxxx=last 4 digits of the camera's MAC address). You need to statically assign your wireless adapter a static IP of 192.168.1.xxx / 255.255.255.0 (anything but 30)
4. Open browser and go to http://192.168.1.30. Install the 1.04 or 1.06 firmware.
5. Once done, run the setup wizard or app to reinstall the camera.

You can ignore the app's request to upgrade and do it manually through the web gui of the camera.
Logged

rjj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2018, 02:40:29 PM »

You rock! This is exactly what I was looking for and I could recovery the image now.
It´s working fine, camera is back on and up and running as designed!
Brazil support guy shared step 1 only so I stopped there so not aware about rescue SSID.
I´m going to cancel the replacement, thanks!
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1405
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2018, 02:45:28 PM »

It took me all morning to find that for you so I am happy it worked out. Let us know if you have any more issues.
Logged

rjj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L
« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2018, 02:49:57 PM »

Thank you for your support and engagement here I think this is a GOLD tip for DLINK customers and nice to have this into the community.

Well done!

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blinking Red on DCS-960L (RESOLVED)
« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2018, 04:23:37 PM »

Glad you got it running. I've added this information to our archives.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!