• May 24, 2018, 09:45:05 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router access from different VLAN  (Read 1705 times)

johnkiddjr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Router access from different VLAN
« on: June 24, 2017, 01:38:55 PM »

I cannot access the AP at all (it's in AP mode via this guide) from a different VLAN on my network. I need 2 way communication between it and the DNS/DHCP server to allow for RADIUS auth to take place.

Meaning, the servers cannot ping nor access the AP, the AP cannot ping or access the servers. However any connected client to the AP has full normal access to servers and the config. Any wired clients that are not wired directly into the AP cannot ping nor access the AP. Clients manually placed in the Wifi VLAN can access the AP as if they were connected to it.

AP info:
DIR-850L Rev A  FW 1.14
Region: United States
Connected to switch via LAN port, WAN port is unused.

ISP: Comcast via Zoom modem
Router: pfSense running on Hyper-V Virtual Machine
Switch: Netgear ProSafe JGS524E
Firewall: pfSense, currently set to allow all traffic for diagnostic purposes

Physical Setup: Modem -> pfSense dedicated NIC -> Netgear Smart Switch -> AP
All other wired clients connect via the Netgear.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45003
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Router access from different VLAN
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2017, 01:55:55 PM »

I presume the problem maybe with this different VLAN. I know that using the 850L in AP modem LAN to LAN on a standard DCHP server or router system, anyone can access the AP in this configuration. A VLAN may not support this, you'll need to check the configuration of the VLAN for this.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

johnkiddjr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Router access from different VLAN
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2017, 02:53:07 PM »

Well I do have the firewalls turned off, and the dynamic routing is working fine between VLANs.

In fact, a computer on Wifi (VLAN 220) can communicate with a server(VLAN 20) both ways with no issue, but the DLink AP (VLAN 220) cannot communicate both ways with a server (VLAN 20). That makes me think it's not a VLAN issue, but something on the DLink AP itself that is blocking the connections.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45003
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Router access from different VLAN
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2017, 03:02:07 PM »

And you do have the 850L set up LAN to LAN, not using the WAN port right?

I can access any of my APs on my system just fine using the LAN to LAN method. However I don't have a VLAN configuration.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

johnkiddjr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Router access from different VLAN
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2017, 03:17:38 PM »

Yes, it's connected to LAN3 on the 850L. Picture here showing how it's hooked up.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45003
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Router access from different VLAN
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2017, 03:21:22 PM »

Then, at least on a non VLAN network, the static IP address you input on the 850L should be accessible from the LAN side devices. Not sure about when VLANs are connected. I can access all 2 extra APs on my system, ones a DGL-5500 with OpenWRT and the other is a DIR-836L running OEM FW. Both connect to switches behind the main switch and thats connected to the main host router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

johnkiddjr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Router access from different VLAN
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2017, 03:39:19 PM »

Are you thinking I might be SOL on getting RADIUS working on the 850L with VLANs in play? RADIUS worked fine without VLANs in play.

My guest Wifi works fine, since it just uses a WPA key instead of using RADIUS auth like my primary Wifi does.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45003
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Router access from different VLAN
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2017, 05:04:27 PM »

Anything is possible. I don't use RADIUS so not sure.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45003
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Router access from different VLAN
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2017, 06:55:50 AM »

Users are advised to update to the latest version ASAP:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=72539.0
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting