• March 28, 2024, 07:06:43 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Question about Public IP(s) & Private IP(s) coexisting in the same switch  (Read 7210 times)

ulasozcelik

• Level 1 Member

First of all let me begin by saying that I'm a total noob when it comes to smart/managed switches. So forgive me if this is not even possible to accomplish.

Also, I know that this could easily be achieved by utilizing another switch by placing it between the cable modem and router, but I want to know if I can make do with just one switch. In the process, learn some of the more advanced techniques involved.

(internet)
                           ||
                          \  /
                   (cable modem)(which serves 10 usable Public IP(s))
                           ||
                           ||
                           ||
This CAT5e line with get connected to DGS-1224T's Port #1
                           ||
                          \  /
                    (DGS-1224T)

From here, I would like to connect a line between Port #2 of the DGS-1224T and my router's WAN port to obtain the first public IP. So far so good.

Here where it gets interesting. I then want to connect a line between Port #12 of the DGS-1224T and my router's (switch part - LAN segment) Port #1.

So basically I want to use Port #1 ~ #11 for Public IP addresses coming from the cable modem and use Port #12 ~ #24 for Private IP addresses that are controlled by my router/firewall (which is connected to Port #2).

Is this possible? If so, will there be any drawbacks?

Fatman

• Poweruser
  • Level 9 Member

Possible, simple even.