• March 28, 2024, 02:43:19 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DIY: How to easily view your FTP'd images in a gallery using your web browser  (Read 68916 times)

TD99

• Level 2 Member

If you're like me, you've probably installed your cameras by now and have them sending up images to an FTP server either on a schedule or when motion is detected (I use the latter). But the problem is: "How do I easily view the images using my web browser?"

Sure, you could view them one at a time by going to "http://www.mysite.com/folderwithimages", but I wanted a FAST and FREE way to view a gallery of thumbnails of the captured images.

Well, I did some research and found a pretty good solution which I will walk you through below (yeah, I'm an engineer and tech writer by trade, so I like documenting cool finds and then sharing them with others).

The following does require a little technical know-how in terms of web servers, etc. but I'll try to be as descriptive as possible.

And now, the solution: phpAlbum.net

It is an Open Source PHP script which allows you to create your personal Photo Album / Gallery in just a few seconds. All you need is a web space with FTP access. No database is needed. After a few clicks with the phpAlbum.net Installer you are ready to upload your photos, create new directories /galleries, and use your photo album.

Since the site has an installer, I was up and running in minutes.

Read all about it and run the installer here:
http://www.phpalbum.net/

Tip: Before you get started, you should confirm that your web hosting provider supports PHP 5 (chances are that they all do, but you never know.)

The basic steps are:

1. Pick a folder on your web server which will house the phpAlbum files.