• April 16, 2024, 10:28:42 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: FTP only works from web bases client  (Read 5920 times)

mas110

• Level 1 Member
FTP only works from web bases client
« on: December 29, 2009, 10:34:42 AM »

Hi

I am new to the home networking and obviously not an expert.  I read all the threads in this forum and whatever I could find in a Google search.  Clearly, I could not understand some or most of the high tech stuff such as Telnet and so on.  However, based on what I learned, I could finally set up my Linksys router and D-Link DNS-323 to work at home. The home network is fine and the media sever is working OK.  The FTP is also working perfectly at home from internal computer.  However, from outside, I only can access the FTP by using a web based FTP client such as net2ftp.com.  Regular, FTP clients does not work. I tried  IE8, Mozilla FireFox, and WinSCP.  I also turned off (or unchecked) the passive mode.  I tried it with and without SSL.  Nothing worked except web base clients.  I greatly appreciate if anybody can provide a hint about the source of this problem.    By the way, the port of FTP server in DNS-323 configuration is not Port 21.  I set it on a port higher than 1900 and forward that port in my router to DNS static IP address.  I thought using a non typical port is safer (just a feeling).   I am not sure if the port is the source of the problem as it does work with net2ftp.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Regards,

Mas110

gunrunnerjohn

• Level 11 Member
Re: FTP only works from web bases client
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2009, 11:43:58 AM »