• November 28, 2021, 02:46:23 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Question about DGL 4500  (Read 3116 times)

mjp1531

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Question about DGL 4500
« on: April 01, 2013, 06:16:57 PM »

Hi, I have had the DGL for quite some time now and have loved it almost every second. We moved to what we thought would be a temporary home about 4 months ago, changed internet providers to CenturyLink (only option here) and was given a Westell 7500 modem/router to use. Since we were supposedly not staying here long, I decided to put the DGL in the closet and forgot about it until a few days ago. My son has been complaining that the wireless signal in his room is kind of weak. I moved the Westell closer to him but started  thinking about the DGL I have. Would we get better PC/xbox/ps3 game connections if I were to go back to the DGL? When I first got CenturyLink installed, the guy told me that I could bridge the Westell if I wanted to and use my own router. Well now I am wondering if I should do this. If so, would anyone know the actual step by step instructions to make it work? Will I get more 'power' that way? I do a lot of downloading, I'm currently taking 15 credits in an online school, I regularly play xbox live (wired), my son has a wireless ps3/xbox/laptop/iPad that he uses all throughout our house, and we also have a wireless xbox in the living room. I use my laptop for everything so I wouldn't have time to spend days trying to get this to work. Maybe just a solid day on the weekend when I get a break from school. I just wanted to get some suggestions from you guys to see what my next step should be. I have the Westell in my room which is centrally located in the house. My son's room is right next door to me but he doesn't get as much of a signal. Should I fool with the setup or just have him deal with the lack of signal?

Thanks in advance for any help :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Question about DGL 4500
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2013, 07:33:18 AM »

Yes, ISP model HW is not desigend as well as external Router HW.

It's preferred to always bridge ISP modems if possible when using external routers.

Yes, the DGL-4500 is better suited for general internet and gaming.

Review the following for Game Fuel setup:
DGL-4500 Gaming and Gamefuel for XBL

Gaming and QoS for PlayStation

Let us know how it goes for you.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

mjp1531

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Question about DGL 4500
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2013, 05:15:05 PM »

Thanks :) I'll read up on everything and see how it goes. I don't know how to actually set up the bridge. Would there be a tutorial for everything I need to do?
« Last Edit: April 03, 2013, 05:16:39 PM by mjp1531 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Question about DGL 4500
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2013, 05:22:57 PM »

I believe if you do a search on the web or on DSLReports.com, you should be able to find info on that modem model.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.