• April 25, 2024, 09:01:37 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 4k support and should I use beta?  (Read 10583 times)

Eric-Tom

• Level 1 Member
4k support and should I use beta?
« on: March 12, 2011, 09:09:31 AM »

Hi,
I just brought this NAS and I am familiar with servers. But I have question specific to D-Link because I am a newbie to this NAS. If I want to format my drive in 4K sector with WD 1.5TB WD15EARS with just two drives (NO RAID-I just installed it in RAID and decided to go with just two drives), can I use the Beta Firmware to format my drives and later upgrade to official without losing all my data?

So... I guess what I like to know is if I install beta 1.10 to format, can I upgrade to official one later without losing all my dad on the HDs? I would like 4K support due to performance improvement. I know that D-Link start to support EARS drives. I cannot find any vendor in Calgary that sell EADS drives.

THANK YOU SO MUCH.
DIR-825(Main Router)
DIR-655(Used as a wireless access point to extend the coverage)
DGS-1005G 5-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch
DNS-323 NAS with 2 WD 1.5TB in Standard 2 volume set up
PS3, my own server and 5 other computers on the network with BlackBerry 9700 and iPod on wifi

Eric-Tom

• Level 1 Member
Re: 4k support and should I use beta?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 06:07:08 PM »

Can anyone from D-Link or someone out there who knows tech stuff more than I do help me over here? Please let me know if I have to reformat my two HDss to use 4K on 1.10 firmware?
DIR-825(Main Router)
PS3, my own server and 5 other computers on the network with BlackBerry 9700 and iPod on wifi

ericj

• Level 1 Member
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2011, 11:27:59 PM »