• April 22, 2021, 07:40:00 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Dir615 - Problems with connectivity  (Read 4442 times)

twoski

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Dir615 - Problems with connectivity
« on: October 19, 2011, 12:42:26 PM »

So i have set up my Dir615 router and it worked for about a week perfectly. Then one day i was able to connect to the router, but it says that there is no internet connection. This is untrue since i am able to connect to the internet if i unplug from its WAN port and put it straight into my laptop.

When i go to the Dir615 control panel it says that the cord on the WAN port is disconnected when it clearly is not.

This is the second Dir615 i have bought and the same problem happened to my last one. Why is it deciding to stop working after a week?

HW ver: E3
FW ver: 5.10
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Dir615 - Problems with connectivity
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2011, 12:45:29 PM »

This may sound like an oversimplification, but are you using the same network cable for both DIR-615s? Did you try swapping out the network cable?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49604
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir615 - Problems with connectivity
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2011, 01:03:48 PM »

I would check the cables on between the router and modem. Some inbox cables are made cheaply. I recommend CAT6. Shortest length as you can go. Mines a 1 footer. Keep us posted.

Some things to try:
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.

Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.

What wireless modes are you using?
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? WEP, WPA or WPA2? Preferred is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area?

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

twoski

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Dir615 - Problems with connectivity
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2011, 09:52:25 PM »

I'll try a different cable tomorrow.

ISP: DSL
Modem: 2wire 2701
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49604
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir615 - Problems with connectivity
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2011, 07:32:45 AM »

Ah, 2wire DSL. Just be aware that have seen some problems with 2wire modems and external routers.
Stand Alone or built in router?

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

twoski

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Dir615 - Problems with connectivity
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2011, 05:19:14 PM »

The 2wire has built-in router capabilities but i turned them off.

I have a feeling that there may be conflict between the 2 routers i have connected to the modem. The first one works fine but the other one has problems.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49604
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir615 - Problems with connectivity
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2011, 07:58:52 AM »

Does the 2wire modem have a DMZ by chance? If so, might try putting the 615's IP address it gets from the 2wire in the DMZ and go from there. There has been alot of problems with 2wire and external routers working with each other.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

twoski

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Dir615 - Problems with connectivity
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2011, 10:42:12 PM »

It has a DMZ mode that you can enable for anything plugged into the modem, i'll try enabling it for the router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49604
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir615 - Problems with connectivity
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2011, 10:43:21 AM »

Ok, see how that works, just input the IP address for the WAN IP address the 615 is getting. Should work. Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.