• April 25, 2024, 06:21:49 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: questions RE: firmware upgrade and users/groups  (Read 6098 times)

scottatah

• Level 1 Member
questions RE: firmware upgrade and users/groups
« on: December 17, 2007, 12:02:23 PM »

Hey folks

I'm no expert, but vastly appreciate this device.  Network storage makes life much easier on a notebook with a not overly harddrive.

1.  I'm currenlty on the 1.02 firmware, and notice the system doesn't organize folders alphabetically, windows will, but if i load music into winamp, by default they're added in whatever order i created the folders.  Dlink has told me a firmware upgrade will fix it, but the firmware says i'll need to redo my dirves if I do.  I cannot afford to lose this data, nor do i have anywhere to move it for the time being.

Is it absolutey necessary to format the drives?  Could I format one drive, during the upgrade, then put them back in and copy the data from the old drive tothe formatted drive, then format the other drive and recopy the data?

2.  With users and groups, how do those work?  Do they work according to the computer name?  The logon to windows or what?  I never get the option to type in a username/password when attempting to access the NAS  It nearly always says guest.  I have managed to get myself setup with a password protected account, but I often work on other computers and would like to be able to access a certain area for backing up data, but more often than not I'm unable to.

Can someone explain that area to me of what those usernames validate off of?

Thanks for all your help!

fordem

• Level 10 Member
Re: questions RE: firmware upgrade and users/groups
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2007, 02:01:49 PM »