• April 25, 2024, 06:00:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: not working anymore after new adding a new drive  (Read 1900 times)

Remdelyon

• Level 1 Member
not working anymore after new adding a new drive
« on: March 11, 2014, 04:06:02 PM »

Hi All,
I've been using a DNS 320 for two years wihout any issue; I had only one drive (1To) on the left slot.  To extend the capacity, I inserted a new drive (2To) in the second (right) slot. The nas was working perfectly one minute before the insertion.
With this second drive, the nas starts, the drive (or at least one of the drives) makes the usual noise when the nas is booting. Then everything becomes quiet - as usual after a reboot. The power light is on, but the nas remains inaccessible from the web UI. After a long wait, I only get a part of the log screen (only the boxes and fields to fill in, without any text -) and if I try to connect as admin or other user, the browser times out. Of course the nas is also inaccessible from my FTP client.

Do you think the second drive has killed my nas? or is there anything I could try?  perhaps with the CD? (if i manage to find it again...)

Thanks for your help.

ivan

• Level 8 Member
Re: not working anymore after new adding a new drive
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2014, 06:09:16 PM »

A couple of things to try/check.

First check that you have the correct power supply and that it is supplying the correct voltage.  If the power supply does not supply enough current the voltage will drop and the unit will nor work correctly (you could test with another power supply that is 12volt at 4Amp minimum).