• April 17, 2024, 10:24:18 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Frustrated! Can't get "Server Type" to work in Event Setup  (Read 43047 times)

TD99

• Level 2 Member
Frustrated! Can't get "Server Type" to work in Event Setup
« on: January 30, 2014, 07:12:23 PM »

OK, so I've been using six DCS-930L cameras for the past few years. There was a learning curve, but I survived.

Now, I'm taking a stab at my new DCS-2332L because I wanted 720 res., outdoor/weatherproof, and night vision. However after 3 nights of troubleshooting, I'm on the verge of returning it due to the frustrations I've encountered (and I'm a Sr. Network Engineer by trade!).

I figured out that the Motion Detection tab isn't displayed when using Firefox, so now I'm on IE. I've managed to get Motion Detection to record to the installed SD Card, but I cannot for the life of me get Email, FTP, or Network Storage working. All I get is the very unhelpful "Test Error".

I've used the same Email and FTP settings working on my DCS-930L cameras -- result? "Test Error".

I see that there's a new "Network Storage" option! Great! I can enter the path to my Synology DS211+ NAS, right? Nope. "Test Error".  ???

Has anyone had any luck with Email, FTP, or Network Storage? I use FTP on my DCS-930L cameras and they always FTP the images to my Synology -- usually without issues.

I should mention that had it working with the Synology's Surveillance Station for a night, but that uses a lot of wi-fi bandwidth since it's constantly streaming the video feed to the NAS. So I disabled that test.

The DCS-930L is now $30 (I originally paid $60 apiece). The DCS-2332L is currently $149 -- five times the price of the DCS-930L, so if I can't get this guy working soon, it's going back.  :-\