• June 21, 2024, 12:20:46 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DHP309AV how to update firmware from linux  (Read 14068 times)

n_lona

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DHP309AV how to update firmware from linux
« on: May 20, 2016, 02:30:37 AM »

I need some help about how to update DHP309AV firmware from linux. PLEASE HELP ME. THANKS IN FORWARD.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHP309AV how to update firmware from linux
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2016, 07:13:38 AM »

Welcome!
  • What region are you located?

Not sure if Linux is supported unless you can access the units web page if they support web page access and update the unit via a web browser. If not, you'll need to find a Windows based PC or take your unit to a friend, family or neighbor with a Windows based PC and try that.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

n_lona

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DHP309AV how to update firmware from linux
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2016, 12:37:58 PM »

Welcome!
  • What region are you located?

Not sure if Linux is supported unless you can access the units web page if they support web page access and update the unit via a web browser. If not, you'll need to find a Windows based PC or take your unit to a friend, family or neighbor with a Windows based PC and try that.
EMEA italy and in Italy they did not provide any useful help but I didn't know that the dhp 309 would have a web browser page.  How can I reach the web browser if they did not have an ip ? They are a non wifi model so I though that there was no web interface to contral the devices.

Herewith you can find a scan of my network showing that no dlink device has been discovered & and iperf throughput of the dlink devices.
Code: [Select]
nmap 192.168.1.* -Pn

Starting Nmap 7.01 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2016-05-20 21:28 CEST
Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.1
Host is up (0.092s latency).
Not shown: 994 closed ports
PORT    STATE    SERVICE
21/tcp  open     ftp
23/tcp  filtered telnet
53/tcp  open     domain
80/tcp  open     http
443/tcp open     https
631/tcp open     ipp
MAC Address: A4:99:47:49:D2:FB (Huawei Technologies)

Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.2
Host is up (0.089s latency).
All 1000 scanned ports on 192.168.1.2 are closed
MAC Address: BC:B3:08:8F:24:95 (Hongkong Ragentek Communication Technology,limited)

Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.4
Host is up (0.070s latency).
Not shown: 999 closed ports
PORT   STATE SERVICE
80/tcp open  http
MAC Address: 64:D1:A3:1A:64:16 (Sitecom Europe BV)

Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.5
Host is up (0.0020s latency).
Not shown: 999 closed ports
PORT   STATE SERVICE
80/tcp open  http
MAC Address: 00:06:4F:88:ED:8E (Pro-nets Technology)

Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.6
Host is up (0.0059s latency).
Not shown: 995 closed ports
PORT     STATE SERVICE
7676/tcp open  imqbrokerd
8000/tcp open  http-alt
8001/tcp open  vcom-tunnel
8080/tcp open  http-proxy
8443/tcp open  https-alt
MAC Address: 90:F1:AA:B6:EF:1F (Samsung Electronics)

Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.50
Host is up (0.076s latency).
All 1000 scanned ports on 192.168.1.50 are closed
MAC Address: EC:1F:72:37:62:9B (Samsung Electro Mechanics)

Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.8
Host is up (0.000051s latency).
Not shown: 999 closed ports
PORT   STATE SERVICE
22/tcp open  ssh
Code: [Select]
iperf -c 192.168.1.50
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.1.50, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 43.8 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  3] local 192.168.1.8 port 45219 connected with 192.168.1.50 port 5001
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  3]  0.0-10.1 sec  14.9 MBytes  12.3 Mbits/sec
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHP309AV how to update firmware from linux
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2016, 12:51:31 PM »

These probably need the use of the PowerLine Utility program to get installed or updated. I presume the utility program need a Windows based PC to use it.
http://www.dlink.com/it/it/support/product/dhp-309av-powerline-av-mini-adapter-starter-kit?revision=deu_reva#downloads
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

n_lona

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DHP309AV how to update firmware from linux
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2016, 12:59:38 PM »

These probably need the use of the PowerLine Utility program to get installed or updated. I presume the utility program need a Windows based PC to use it.
http://www.dlink.com/it/it/support/product/dhp-309av-powerline-av-mini-adapter-starter-kit?revision=deu_reva#downloads
For sure the devices could be udpated by using that Windows tool but I do not have any Win (except WinXP which is not supported by your wind update tool) that's why I am asking you another method.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHP309AV how to update firmware from linux
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2016, 01:00:48 PM »

Do have any friends, family, neighbors or co=workers with Windows PCs that can help you?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

n_lona

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DHP309AV how to update firmware from linux
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2016, 01:25:55 PM »

Do have any friends, family, neighbors or co=workers with Windows PCs that can help you?
No that's the problem and I couldn't move easly because I am living on a wheelchair most of the time. So I do really need some help.
Hardware Versione B1
The zip file cointains 2 archive
Code: [Select]
7z x Downloads/DHP308AV_fw_revB1_2-02_all_en_20140710.zip

7-Zip 9.20  Copyright (c) 1999-2010 Igor Pavlov  2010-11-18
p7zip Version 9.20 (locale=it_IT.utf8,Utf16=on,HugeFiles=on,2 CPUs)

Processing archive: Downloads/DHP308AV_fw_revB1_2-02_all_en_20140710.zip
Extracting  DHP-308AV_B1_FW2.02_Release Notes.pdf
Extracting  DHP308AVB1_FW202CEBb01.sorol_no_diag.ggl
Extracting  DHP308AVB1_FW202NAb01.sorol_no_diag.ggl
first ggl file contains
Code: [Select]
7z x DHP308AVB1_FW202CEBb01.sorol_no_diag.ggl

7-Zip 9.20  Copyright (c) 1999-2010 Igor Pavlov  2010-11-18
p7zip Version 9.20 (locale=it_IT.utf8,Utf16=on,HugeFiles=on,2 CPUs)

Processing archive: DHP308AVB1_FW202CEBb01.sorol_no_diag.ggl
Extracting  bin_upgrade.2_3_4_33601.SOROL.bin
Extracting  fw_upgrade.2_3_4_33601.sorol_no_diag.BCM_60321_5241.bin
Extracting  hw_version.txt
Extracting  paramconfig.2_3_4_33601.BCM_CFG9_EU.bin
2nd ggl file contains
Code: [Select]
7z x DHP308AVB1_FW202NAb01.sorol_no_diag.ggl

7-Zip 9.20  Copyright (c) 1999-2010 Igor Pavlov  2010-11-18
p7zip Version 9.20 (locale=it_IT.utf8,Utf16=on,HugeFiles=on,2 CPUs)

Processing archive: DHP308AVB1_FW202NAb01.sorol_no_diag.ggl
Extracting  bin_upgrade.2_3_4_33601.SOROL.bin
Extracting  fw_upgrade.2_3_4_33601.sorol_no_diag.BCM_60321_5241.bin
Extracting  hw_version.txt
Extracting  paramconfig.2_3_4_33601.BCM_CFG9_US.bin
Seems to me  that the second ggl file it is not for emea product expecially Italy so my case should be the 1st ggl file.
But I cannot go further unluckly.

I have also tried to use int6k.exe -a onto the command line with windows xp in safe mode and disabling the firewall  the command line with obviously the rig directly connected to the device (and on line) but I only get anything useful. Besides Viper.exe seems both from the command line or graphically doesn't see any DHPs devices neither local  nor remote.

Code: [Select]
int6k --help

 program: Qualcomm Atheros INT6x00 Powerline Device Manager

 command: int6k [options] device [device] [...]

 options: [aB:C:d:D:efFHi:IJ:K:l:mMn:N:p:P:QqrRS:st:Tvw:x!?]

 -a read device attributes using VS_OP_ATTRIBUTES
 -B n perform pushbutton action (n) using MS_PB_ENC [1|2|3|'join'|'leave'|'status']
 -C n flash NVRAM with module (n) using VS_MOD_NVM [1|2|3|'nvm'|'pib'|'both']
 -d f dump and clear watchdog report to file (f) using VS_WD_RPT
 -D x set DAK to (x) for option -J [689F074B8B0275A2710B0B5779AD1630]
 -e redirect stderr to stdout
 -f read NVRAM Configuration using VS_GET_NVM
 -F[F] flash [force] NVRAM with PIB and firmware using VS_MOD_NVM
 -H stop host action requests using VS_HOST_ACTION.IND
 -i s host interface is (s) ["eth1"]
 -I read device identity using VS_RD_MOD
 -J x set NMK on remote device (x) via local device using VS_SET_KEY (see -K)
 -K x set NMK to (x) for options -J and -M [50D3E4933F855B7040784DF815AA8DB7]
 -l n loop (n) times [1]
 -m read network membership information using VS_NW_INFO
 -M set NMK on local device using VS_SET_KEY (see -K)
 -n f read NVM from SDRAM to file (f) using VS_RD_MOD
 -N f write NVM file (f) to SDRAM using VS_WR_MOD
 -p f read PIB from SDRAM to file (f) using VS_RD_MOD
 -P f write PIB file (f) to SDRAM using VS_WR_MOD
 -q quiet mode
 -Q quick flash (return immediately)
 -r read hardware and firmware revision using VS_SW_VER
 -R reset device using VS_RS_DEV
 -s read SDRAM Configuration using VS_RD_CBLOCK
 -S f write an SDRAM Configuration file (f) using VS_SET_SDRAM
 -t n read timeout is (n) milliseconds [50]
 -T restore factory defaults using VS_FAC_DEFAULTS
 -v verbose mode
 -w n pause (n) seconds [0]
 -x exit on error
 -! version information
 -? help summary

Code: [Select]
root@kali:~# int6k -i eth0 -afmr
eth0 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Request Version Information
eth0 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Fetch Device Attributes
eth0 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Fetch NVRAM Configuration
eth0 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Fetch Network Information
On win XP
Code: [Select]
int6k.exe -afmr (the default nic should be 2)
nic2 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Request Version Information
nic2 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Fetch Device Attributes
nic2 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Fetch NVRAM Configuration
nic2 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Fetch Network Information
Code: [Select]
int6k -i eth0 -avfmr
eth0 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Request Version Information
00000000 00 B0 52 00 00 01 00 1E 68 XX XX XX 88 E1 00 00 ..R.....h.......
00000010 A0 00 B0 52 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ...R............
00000020 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00000030 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00             ............   

eth0 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Fetch Device Attributes
00000000 00 B0 52 00 00 01 00 1E 68 XX XX XX 88 E1 00 68 ..R.....h......h
00000010 A0 00 B0 52 12 34 56 78 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ...R.4Vx........
00000020 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00000030 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00             ............   

eth0 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Fetch NVRAM Configuration
00000000 00 B0 52 00 00 01 00 1E 68 XX XX XX 88 E1 00 10 ..R.....h.......
00000010 A0 00 B0 52 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ...R............
00000020 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00000030 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00             ............   

eth0 00:B0:52:00:00:01 Fetch Network Information
00000000 00 B0 52 00 00 01 00 1E 68 XX XX XX 88 E1 00 38 ..R.....h......8
00000010 A0 00 B0 52 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ...R............
00000020 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00000030 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00             ............   

Code: [Select]
ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1e:68:xx:xx:xx
          inet addr:192.168.1.8  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::21e:68ff:feb1:feed/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:495742 errors:0 dropped:294 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:364507 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:191057180 (182.2 MiB)  TX bytes:31811921 (30.3 MiB)
« Last Edit: May 23, 2016, 01:50:39 PM by n_lona »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHP309AV how to update firmware from linux
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2016, 07:43:47 AM »

You'll need to get some help from someone locally there. You need a Windows PC to use, barrow one temporarily to get the FW updated or take the units to a different location which has a windows PC to use. Please phone contact your regional D-Link support office for additional help and information.

Good Luck.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.