• February 08, 2023, 08:22:13 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Significant loss of bandwidth with 5500  (Read 5297 times)

fa11en

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Significant loss of bandwidth with 5500
« on: December 08, 2014, 10:54:56 AM »

I've searched the forum a bit and can't find anyone with this problem so far.

I just got the 5500 and plug it into my ISP connection and I'm losing ton's of bandwidth. On a 100/50 connection I'm seeing anything from 13/5 to 21/7. When I go back to my old router I see my normal 95/50-ish connection.

I've updated firmware, rolled back firmware, enabled/disabled SB, tried multiple DNS, factory defaulted, tried multiple patch cords/PC's/test sites. I'm 100% confident its not my ISP.  I only have 1 device hardwired to the 5500. SB continues to give me some sort of "connection failure" error when I attempt to use the "test" option.

Any Ideas before I return the 5500?

Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Significant loss of bandwidth with 5500
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2014, 11:01:50 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

What Mfr and model is the older router?

  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

Did you disable ABE and leave SB enabled and test?
Did you manually input 100 and 50 into the SB section and test with ABE disabled?
Did you set any priority levels for the one testing PC?

How long have you had the 5500 for?
How long did you give the 5500 to test the ISP connection? SB/ABE needs a while to update and perform it's testing.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fa11en

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Significant loss of bandwidth with 5500
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2014, 11:20:52 AM »

What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status. Currently on 1.11 but have tried every firmware on Dlink's site
What region are you located? Iowa
Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch? Yes, defaulted every time I updated firmware

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Fiber
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?Calix ONT 725GE

What Mfr and model is the older router?Dlink DGL-5500A1

Did you disable ABE and leave SB enabled and test? Yes
Did you manually input 100 and 50 into the SB section and test with ABE disabled? Yes
Did you set any priority levels for the one testing PC?No, Do I really need to with just 1 device?

How long have you had the 5500 for? 3 days
How long did you give the 5500 to test the ISP connection? SB/ABE needs a while to update and perform it's testing. Router was plugged in all weekend with no change in performance


One note... I am the lead tech for my ISP. We are a small independent Telco and I control the entire network. I assure you this is not a telco related problem. I've tested on multiple ONT's in multiple locations with the 5500 always hardwired to the ONT with a short patch cord(patch cord is known/tested good) and our MTU on the CPE devices is hard set at 2000. We are friendly with anything running an MTU under 2000 but even still I changed the MTU on the 5500 to 1300 and still didn't see a change in performance. I've tried a variety of speed profiles and the router just seems to think there is only 15-20M there.
 
Logged

Vigilante

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Significant loss of bandwidth with 5500
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2014, 11:26:31 AM »

Disable /uncheck ABE in Streamboost settings.
Logged

fa11en

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Significant loss of bandwidth with 5500
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2014, 11:35:56 AM »

Just unchecked ABE with SB on. There was only 1 device to prioritize(my laptop) and it was already at 1.

Now I get 14/5.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Significant loss of bandwidth with 5500
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2014, 11:39:27 AM »

Are there any traffic management features on the ISP ONT that could be enabled by chance? Thats about the only thing I can think of that might effect speeds.

What is the ISP ONT connection rate on it's WAN Port? 100 or 1000? You might try setting the router to a manual 100 or 1000Mb WAN port speed and test.

Any chance you can test the router on the on-ONT ISP connection, say cable modem or DSL? Just curious if the router can achieve better speeds that what your seeing on ONT. Possible a speed compatibility connection issue here maybe. If the router can get to speeds on DSL or Cable modems, then problem maybe routers handling of ONT connections.

There was an issue with this router handling speeds over 90Mb however I was told it was fixed. You are testing speeds with a wired LAN PC with any 3rd party security SW disabled?

Im currently seeing 50/3 however I'm on cable using a Motorola SB 6180 modem and thats using v1.13.

You might factory reset, load v1.13, factory reset once more after sending the file and test again with manual wan port speed set.


What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status. Currently on 1.11 but have tried every firmware on Dlink's site
What region are you located? Iowa
Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch? Yes, defaulted every time I updated firmware

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Fiber
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?Calix ONT 725GE

What Mfr and model is the older router?Dlink DGL-5500A1

Did you disable ABE and leave SB enabled and test? Yes
Did you manually input 100 and 50 into the SB section and test with ABE disabled? Yes
Did you set any priority levels for the one testing PC?No, Do I really need to with just 1 device?

How long have you had the 5500 for? 3 days
How long did you give the 5500 to test the ISP connection? SB/ABE needs a while to update and perform it's testing. Router was plugged in all weekend with no change in performance


One note... I am the lead tech for my ISP. We are a small independent Telco and I control the entire network. I assure you this is not a telco related problem. I've tested on multiple ONT's in multiple locations with the 5500 always hardwired to the ONT with a short patch cord(patch cord is known/tested good) and our MTU on the CPE devices is hard set at 2000. We are friendly with anything running an MTU under 2000 but even still I changed the MTU on the 5500 to 1300 and still didn't see a change in performance. I've tried a variety of speed profiles and the router just seems to think there is only 15-20M there.
 
« Last Edit: December 08, 2014, 11:43:19 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fa11en

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Significant loss of bandwidth with 5500
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2014, 01:34:16 PM »

I just finished the upgrade to 1.13 with a pre and post factory default. Let the router sit for about 15 minutes and I'm still seeing sub-par speeds(15/4 with SB on, 18/6 with it off). Seems like a bandwidth reservation deal in case of a priority device request. We are 100% fiber so I don't have access to any other modes of connecting to the Internet short of going into my core router. Which honestly I don't care enough to get set up. I've already got the RMA for the router and I'll try another one. Maybe just a bad router. It seems like an awful lot of tinkering for a end user device.

I will say the SB takes an incredible amount of bandwidth even with the ABE off. I watched it with our monitoring solution for about 10 minutes and it continuously pulled between 7 and 10Mbps with no sign of slowing down. With ABE on it did, what I believe, try to peak out the pipe to determine its speed but even then it only hit 17.9Mbps. The second I shut off SB bandwidth utilization dropped to a few K.

Thanks for everyone's help. I'll post again if I see the same problem with the next 5500.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Significant loss of bandwidth with 5500
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2014, 03:27:04 PM »

Sent you a PM...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.