• August 11, 2022, 04:04:58 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: My Streamboost is jacked up  (Read 4747 times)

Nitrousbird

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
My Streamboost is jacked up
« on: October 31, 2014, 04:20:20 PM »

A couple nights ago, my ISP had an outage (Time Warner). 

When it came back up, I still couldn't surf.  Rebooted everything a couple times, troubleshot a modem issue and got that resolved.  Yet with the router I was dropping random packets, ping times were all over the place and I couldn't surf.  LAN was working fine; Plex streaming to one TV, WMC from cable card feed working fine (and that uses a decent amount of bandwidth).  Most of my network is hard wired.

I ended up disabling Streamboost and everything immediately started working.  Enabled it again and the problem immediately came back.  Did this a couple of times - Streamboost is the culprit.

Firmware 1.11

Did not try hard resetting it yet.  I only bought this router because I needed a replacement router and was an $80 Costco special.  I've had it for about 3 weeks and if it is a POS I'm happy to return it.  I need something with a QoS feature and so far this has shown to work well, but if I can't rely on Streamboost to work I'll just return it for a different router.
Logged

VaultOverseer

  • Guest
Re: My Streamboost is jacked up
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2014, 08:47:27 PM »

A couple nights ago, my ISP had an outage (Time Warner). 

When it came back up, I still couldn't surf.  Rebooted everything a couple times, troubleshot a modem issue and got that resolved.  Yet with the router I was dropping random packets, ping times were all over the place and I couldn't surf.  LAN was working fine; Plex streaming to one TV, WMC from cable card feed working fine (and that uses a decent amount of bandwidth).  Most of my network is hard wired.

I ended up disabling Streamboost and everything immediately started working.  Enabled it again and the problem immediately came back.  Did this a couple of times - Streamboost is the culprit.

Firmware 1.11

Did not try hard resetting it yet.  I only bought this router because I needed a replacement router and was an $80 Costco special.  I've had it for about 3 weeks and if it is a POS I'm happy to return it.  I need something with a QoS feature and so far this has shown to work well, but if I can't rely on Streamboost to work I'll just return it for a different router.

Get Beta FW version 1.12 it's the most stable at the moment.
If you just reboot SB it does take awhile to settle in so right after a reboot it may be a bit messy.
Are you using automatic bandwidth at the moment?
I personally use manual don't worry if during a speed test you see a 10% overall drop in up and down.
This is normal so that your network doesn't become over saturated.
If your opted in for SB updates it normally updates Sun. Wen. and Fri. at night.
So reboot SB and give it awhile with just the PC on let it see your PC then boot one device at a time.
That seems to help speed up the process but things don't normally settle in for at least 24hrs.
I've owned the 5500 sense release it does have some issues but SB works well just update to 1.12. b03
 http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=58723.0
Follow the steps and do your normal setup.
Give SB about 24hrs to settle in. The more devices you have and more apps you use the longer things seem to take so take it easy for about and hour after boot.
If you need anything else just ask I'm around most of the time  ;D
Logged

Nitrousbird

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: My Streamboost is jacked up
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2014, 05:56:49 AM »

I'll update the firmware today and give it a spin.  I have some time (about another 60 days) before my return period ends, so I'll see how it goes.

I had no issues for the several months I was running my DIR-850L as my router.  My Cisco E4200V2 was my wired wireless repeater (and using it as a switch for a few hard wired devices) and the 850 worked fine.  My 4200 started active up and I acquired a couple more AC devices, so I decided to run my 850 as a wired repeater (all routing functions turned off) and the 5500 as my main router.  Size of my house and needing a router in my basement (where all my Ethernet connections terminate) doesn't allow me to run just one router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49922
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My Streamboost is jacked up
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2014, 09:44:59 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49922
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My Streamboost is jacked up
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2014, 03:21:29 PM »

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Nitrousbird

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: My Streamboost is jacked up
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2014, 04:11:40 AM »

I'm done with this thing and will be returning it.  Hard reset, same problem.  Upgraded firmware, same issue. If Streamboost is on, packet loss, awful ping times and basically no ability to surf. Turn it off and it works fine, though I've had to reset it a couple times because of slow speed issues. This is all issues on hard wired connections, multiple devices.

I just ordered a DD-WRT capable router. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49922
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My Streamboost is jacked up
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2014, 06:42:01 AM »

You never answered some questions presented so it's kind of hard for us to help you out and get a better idea of what your systems is like. Maybe if you can give some feedback to the questions presented we can help you out.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49922
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My Streamboost is jacked up
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2014, 07:44:36 AM »

If you wont let us help you you, then maybe you can do this with the 5500 after you get your other router online:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61005.0
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.