• October 01, 2022, 11:39:21 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: WPA2 (AES) ?  (Read 2351 times)

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
WPA2 (AES) ?
« on: March 08, 2022, 03:19:24 PM »

For some time now, my iPhone shows my connection to my home wifi network (DIR-882) to have "weak security."  Says I need to change from WPA/WPA2 (TKIP) to WPA2 (AES) or WPA3.

Is that possible, or a I buying a new router if I want it?
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WPA2 (AES) ?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2022, 01:30:23 PM »

That's only because Apple doesn't want there device seeing a router with mixed mode WPA and WPA2 being broadcast EVENTHOUGH the phone is connecting at WPA2 and AES. WPA3 isn't supported on this model router as WPA3 requires new HW.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

caraM

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: WPA2 (AES) ?
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2022, 04:53:01 PM »

Thanks
Logged
DCS-5009L with firmware v1.06.02
DIR-882 with fw current as of 4/28/18

me_iauras

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: WPA2 (AES) ?
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2022, 02:52:19 PM »

Actually @FurryNutz that's incorrect .
In the last 1.30 firmware the WPA3 protocol was implemented and is available as an option in the advanced section of the Wireless configuration page by itself or in a mixed mode WPA2+WPA3 combo .


https://imgur.com/a/rjbfYdx
« Last Edit: March 24, 2022, 02:55:25 PM by me_iauras »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WPA2 (AES) ?
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2022, 09:23:41 AM »

I stand corrected. Been a while since I had my 882 online.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WPA2 (AES) ?
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2022, 09:25:35 AM »

Cara, make sure your FW is updated if you want WPA3 support.

For some time now, my iPhone shows my connection to my home wifi network (DIR-882) to have "weak security."  Says I need to change from WPA/WPA2 (TKIP) to WPA2 (AES) or WPA3.

Is that possible, or a I buying a new router if I want it?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.