• December 12, 2017, 11:55:52 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-880l settings with BT Smarthub  (Read 232 times)

Windward10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DIR-880l settings with BT Smarthub
« on: November 26, 2017, 09:21:55 AM »

I am a real newbie at networking, routers etc. Due to DSS-PSI requirements I have had to upgrade my firewall and the BT Smarthub on ADSL will not cut the mustard. I have bought a DIR-880l and delivery happened some while ago, but I couldn't get time to set it up. I have discovered that I stupidly ordered the wrong item and it needed a dsl modem and it is too late to return it.
I have a BT Smarthub and tried to set it up as a modem only (Wifi off and DCHP off), but although it will connect to BT via PPoE, the D-Link router connects then drops straight out. The only way I can get the two to see each other is to a) leave DCHP on, 2) set the IP range on the Smart Hub to 192.168.1.64 to 192.168.1.65 and I get internet. Trouble is I no longer get IPv6 only IPv4 and I am not sure how secure this is. I am into day 5 of trying different set ups, but must acknowledge I don't know enough to fix this. Can anyone talk me through the settings or make any suggestions?
 :-[ :-\ :'(
I am not sure if this forum is just for US D-LInk, but cannot find one for UK!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43852
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-880l settings with BT Smarthub
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2017, 12:35:16 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Windward10

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-880l settings with BT Smarthub
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2017, 09:24:30 AM »

Hi
My Hardware is version A1
Firmware 1.08WW
We are from UK - Cumbria

The BT router/modem/Smarthub cannot be bridged so I have set the 880l to 192.168.1.64 and put theis in the DMZ of the Smarthub so there is no double Nat ????. For some reason I cannot set the 880l's IPv4 to anything other than DCHP athough my ISP says it should be set to PPPoE and IPv6 won't connect as IPv4 is DCHP.

I am way outside my knowledge/comfort zone and my brain appears to have fused and shut down.

BT say that the Modem settings for BT should be:
ADSL
bthomehub@btbroadband.com
bt
MTU 1500
VPI =0
VCI =38
PPPOA
VC based Mux
Cannot see how to enter any of these settings and there is no option on the 880l for PPPoA >:(

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43852
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-880l settings with BT Smarthub
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2017, 10:18:51 AM »

You need to change the 880L IP address back to 192.168.0.1.
Then connect the 880L to the ISP router using the WAN cable port in back.
Find the IP address the 880L is given from the ISP router. Should be a 192.168.1.something. Input this IP address into the ISP routers reservation list, then input this IP address into the ISP routers DMZ.
Set Dynamic DHCP for the internet connection, do not use PPPoE. Since the ISP router can't be bridged, the ISP router will be NAT and do the PPPoE.

Disable ALL wireless on the ISP router.
Connect your clients to the 880L. You will have internet.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting