• April 13, 2021, 04:47:47 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-685 Port Forwarding help  (Read 14107 times)

Tahrann

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DIR-685 Port Forwarding help
« on: March 21, 2013, 01:20:35 AM »

I've been needing some help with forwarding ports on my DIR-685 router (running 2.01NA if that helps.) I'm trying to configure the router to accept ports from World Of Warcraft, but the support sites that they link do not have any help for this router nor do any of the other routers have the same time of port set-up as this one (from what I have seen), so it has me confused beyond my current understanding (yes, I am a novice at this). Any help and/or screenshots would be awesome. Thanks a ton.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49572
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-685 Port Forwarding help
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2013, 07:00:31 AM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

How many PCs are gaming with this router? 1 or more?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Tahrann

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-685 Port Forwarding help
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2013, 11:57:45 AM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

How many PCs are gaming with this router? 1 or more?

US, Verizon Fios (I don't know about the modem info), and only 1 PC for gaming (which is using a wireless connection).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49572
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-685 Port Forwarding help
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2013, 12:19:23 PM »

If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

I would recommend that you use Advanced/Virtual Server and input the IP address of the PC that your using for gaming and use the WoW ports that is needed for the game.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Tahrann

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-685 Port Forwarding help
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2013, 12:42:58 PM »

If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

I would recommend that you use Advanced/Virtual Server and input the IP address of the PC that your using for gaming and use the WoW ports that is needed for the game.



I'm about 90-100% sure that this is not a bridged connection since it gave me a normal IP address. I've already tried opening the ports on my laptop (my gaming computer) for WoW, but I get disconnected from anywhere from 30 minutes - 2 hours (also highly theorized that it is Verizon's fault because they have not updated their infrastructure any), but i still want to see if opening the ports on the router would help any. I just need to know what it looks like to put in the info into the port forwarding since the page layout is way different from any of the other routers I have seen.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49572
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-685 Port Forwarding help
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2013, 12:46:32 PM »

Is the IP address on the routers status page a 192.168 or some private IP address? If it is then attempting to PF or use VS will be fruitless as you and encountering a double NAT condition in which trying to configure ports will not work.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Tahrann

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-685 Port Forwarding help
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2013, 12:52:15 PM »

Is the IP address on the routers status page a 192.168 or some private IP address? If it is then attempting to PF or use VS will be fruitless as you and encountering a double NAT condition in which trying to configure ports will not work.

I think it is a private one since Verizon messed up and switched IP addresses with someone else in our neighborhood. It is 173.64.199.1 for the WAN address (which drives me insane trying to remember it). I still had D/C problems even before they switched it from my 192.168 IP. So does this give you any more information?
« Last Edit: March 21, 2013, 12:53:57 PM by Tahrann »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49572
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-685 Port Forwarding help
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2013, 05:04:46 PM »

I would contact your ISP service and see if they can get you a public IP address ON the router and not a private one. A public addresss and the ability to use public DNS is preferred on external routers.

If this can't be done then you can attempt to put the 685s WAN IP address it gets from the FIOS modem into the DMZ on the modem if the modem has this feature.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.