• April 22, 2018, 04:41:42 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How to require WPA2 (and disable WPA)  (Read 246 times)

Drax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
How to require WPA2 (and disable WPA)
« on: April 08, 2018, 08:17:36 AM »

I recently had my Wi-Fi hacked, and realized that my router was set up to allow WPA connections. Since WPA has a known security flaw, I'd like to disable that and require WPA2.

Even the latest firmware version (1.08WW, Wed 24 Jan 2018) only has the options None, WEP (which is even more insecure than WPA), and "WPA/WPA2-Personal". Is there really no way to disable WPA? I'm hoping that I'm missing something, since otherwise I probably need to buy a new router.  :-(
Logged

Mark_KF8RV

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: How to require WPA2 (and disable WPA)
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2018, 06:13:12 PM »

I don't think that just WPA2 is possible on this router.  I wish there was an option to select 'WPA2 Only'.

Perhaps a future fireware version for the DIR-880L will become configurable for WPA2 Only.

Also, I think that WPA3 is in the works by the WiFi industry.

Mark




« Last Edit: April 08, 2018, 06:20:17 PM by Mark_KF8RV »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44898
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: How to require WPA2 (and disable WPA)
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2018, 08:34:57 PM »

All current DIR routers support WPA and WPA2. D-Link for some reason chooses to use Auto for both WPA and WPA2 options. Not sure why they don't offer WPA2 Only. Maybe for backwards compatibility.

Would need to see if your devices or wifi was really hacked or compromised. Need more information. How did you determine your wireless was hacked? You sure it's WPA? What devices do you have that are using WPA?


I recently had my Wi-Fi hacked, and realized that my router was set up to allow WPA connections. Since WPA has a known security flaw, I'd like to disable that and require WPA2.

Even the latest firmware version (1.08WW, Wed 24 Jan 2018) only has the options None, WEP (which is even more insecure than WPA), and "WPA/WPA2-Personal". Is there really no way to disable WPA? I'm hoping that I'm missing something, since otherwise I probably need to buy a new router.  :-(
« Last Edit: April 08, 2018, 08:42:58 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 827
Re: How to require WPA2 (and disable WPA)
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2018, 07:18:40 AM »

The router when set to AUTO will default to WPA2 if the client supports it, if not it will go to WPA.  WPA2 has security flaws also (KRACK). Make sure you have the latest firmware and the latest drivers for your wireless adapters and latest updates for iOS and Android.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2018, 07:21:09 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged