• December 09, 2018, 05:34:56 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Uplink to parent network  (Read 1754 times)

briankitt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Uplink to parent network
« on: March 29, 2018, 04:21:35 PM »

I have Century link, and they have a router for the fiber.
I bought a DIR-867 to have a decent Wireless N/G network.
I put a media server hard wired to the Century Link router, but this is upstream from the DIR-867.

Is there a way to port forward RDP, FTP, etc, from the DIR-867 upstream to the Century Link router?  Once RDP/FTP get to the Century Link router, I have Century Link Router already forwarding those requets properly.

In short - I can access the media server just fine from outside my house.
Inside my house, when I am connected to the Century Link router, I can access the media server just fine.
When I am connected to the DIR-867, I am unable to connect to the media server.  This is because I am unable to figure out how to port forward to the gateway.
Is that even possible?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46270
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Uplink to parent network
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2018, 05:52:20 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

You could turn the DIR router in to an AP if your have a router in front of the DIR router:
Turning a router into an AP.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46270
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Uplink to parent network
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2018, 11:01:32 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

I have Century link, and they have a router for the fiber.
I bought a DIR-867 to have a decent Wireless N/G network.
I put a media server hard wired to the Century Link router, but this is upstream from the DIR-867.

Is there a way to port forward RDP, FTP, etc, from the DIR-867 upstream to the Century Link router?  Once RDP/FTP get to the Century Link router, I have Century Link Router already forwarding those requets properly.

In short - I can access the media server just fine from outside my house.
Inside my house, when I am connected to the Century Link router, I can access the media server just fine.
When I am connected to the DIR-867, I am unable to connect to the media server.  This is because I am unable to figure out how to port forward to the gateway.
Is that even possible?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

briankitt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Uplink to parent network
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2018, 03:27:59 PM »

I apologize for not getting back to you, shame on me for asking for help, and then not giving you an update.

As it turned out, I had a bad uplink network cable.  That's the reason that they were not talking.  Once I put on a new uplink cable, then both networks worked together as they should.  So I spent hours of time trouble shooting this only to have a faulty network cable as my problem.

I forgot to update this ticket, but I should have, since you were nice enough to take the time to respond to me.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46270
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Uplink to parent network
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2018, 03:48:07 PM »

Thanks for coming back and letting us know. Glad it was a easy fix.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!