• April 22, 2018, 05:00:43 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: rename devices help  (Read 2200 times)

dr_pepper

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
rename devices help
« on: November 15, 2016, 08:21:39 AM »

So I have several cameras and somewhere in the last 6 months I can't figure out how to rename devices in the mydlink home app.  I set up a new camera and rename it through mydlink lite and I've also logged into the web server of the device and renamed there, but no matter what I do the device keeps its default name in the mydlink home app. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44898
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2016, 10:49:26 AM »

I don't think you can rename the device names.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gkjeung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2018, 05:28:46 PM »

I have the same problem. It used to work.   I have several cameras which I previously named based on location (Front, Garage, Yard, etc).  Now that I moved the cameras around I want to rename it, it keeps defaulting back to the old names after i change it.  Any recommendations?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44898
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2018, 05:49:56 PM »

Might try removing the app then re-installing. Or try removing the device from the mydlink.com service. Then re-add it using the app then see if you can give it a new name.

I have the same problem. It used to work.   I have several cameras which I previously named based on location (Front, Garage, Yard, etc).  Now that I moved the cameras around I want to rename it, it keeps defaulting back to the old names after i change it.  Any recommendations?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Mr.Navy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2018, 12:05:04 PM »

Renaming is simple:
Open the mydlinkHome app
Open the settings page
In the Green rectangle is the name - Tap into it and Renate.
Done
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44898
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2018, 01:55:20 PM »

Thanks for posting this. Hope it helps.

Thank you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Charliemadere

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2018, 11:33:06 AM »

Mr. Navy - thanks for this advice:
"Open the mydlinkHome app
Open the settings page
In the Green rectangle is the name - Tap into it and Renate."

I'm struggling though.  When I click "settings", I see:
"add a new device
About
3rd party integration"

when I tap on one of my devices, I see only:
"Last detection
Device information"

How do I navigate to the green triangle you mention?  I'm running iOS with mydlink Home version 3.0.8

thank you
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 827
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2018, 12:44:32 PM »

when I tap on one of my devices, I see only:
"Last detection
Device information"

On this screen just tap the name to edit it (the name in the green box next to the icon).
« Last Edit: February 28, 2018, 12:55:02 PM by GreenBay42 »
Logged

Charliemadere

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2018, 01:51:59 PM »

Problem solved.

Thank you!
Logged

diason

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2018, 06:51:49 AM »

when I tap on one of my devices, I see only:
"Last detection
Device information"

On this screen just tap the name to edit it (the name in the green box next to the icon).
when I tap on one of my devices, I see only:
"Last detection
Device information"

On this screen just tap the name to edit it (the name in the green box next to the icon).

Apparently this does not work for Dlink cameras on the mydlink home app.
Logged