• May 21, 2022, 06:43:16 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5

Author Topic: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04  (Read 46880 times)

djid10t

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #45 on: February 13, 2015, 05:33:05 AM »

http://gyazo.com/af7f6b6d6a10f07def3e026acf94f98e

Hard to tell, but the color is yellow for best fit on the amazon videos and there are 2 entries for it.

http://gyazo.com/48ae49636311ea0c3ff42a3ce728604a

Played Destiny on the Xbox One last night.  Comes up bittorrent AND for some reason CoD comes up.  I do not use any kind of torrent and what you see above was what is recorded just from my xbox.
Not asking for Destiny to be labeled, just asking for xbox to be labeled properly, if possible.  The way it is currently, it makes me think that the gaming aspect is being incorrectly prioritized because it is labeled as a torrent.

Could you post some pics of what your seeing regarding classification for examples?

Glad this version is working well. Seems to be getting there. Hope for one or two more good releases.  ::)

This version of firmware is the best for me, so far, thanks for that.

I am wondering if/when we will get proper classification of data.  Xbox one does not get classified (I think it gets classified as bittorrent), call of duty comes up when I am playing a different game all together.  Watching an Amazon video it gets classified as both Amazon video AND web video, not sure that is necessary. Also, gets classified at "Best fit" even when the device it is playing on has been listed as top priority.

If the prioritization of devices does not mean anything, I would like to have the ability to prioritize protocols or applications myself.  I don't know if that is possible, but I thought I would throw that out there.

My router has actually been up for 8 days and I have not seen any other issues.

Thanks guys,
DJ
Logged
DGL-5500, DGL-4500, DIR-825(Running DD-WRT), DAP-1350, DI-524 - XBOX 360, XBOX One, Alienware m11x r2, m14x, Dell Venue Pro 8 tablet

sgtmac

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #46 on: February 16, 2015, 05:46:06 PM »

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=9AE3FED32C6C2D6B!35177&authkey=!AGmgLhv8MTmbsvk&v=3&ithint=photo%2cPNG

As you can see in the graphic the "Status" line is blank and usually reads "Connected" or "Disconnected"


Could you please post a picture of what your seeing?  ???


I have used IE, FF, and Chrome and they all show the same on the Dynamic DNS "Status" line as blank

Ok, what browser are you using to manage the router?
« Last Edit: February 17, 2015, 08:32:25 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #47 on: February 17, 2015, 08:36:47 AM »

Thank you both for this information. I'll add this to the Bugs list.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #48 on: February 17, 2015, 08:43:19 AM »

Can you run a longer duration test with Amazon video to see if the color bar indicates yellow or not? Might give it a while if you can.

http://gyazo.com/af7f6b6d6a10f07def3e026acf94f98e

Hard to tell, but the color is yellow for best fit on the amazon videos and there are 2 entries for it.

http://gyazo.com/48ae49636311ea0c3ff42a3ce728604a

Played Destiny on the Xbox One last night.  Comes up bittorrent AND for some reason CoD comes up.  I do not use any kind of torrent and what you see above was what is recorded just from my xbox.
Not asking for Destiny to be labeled, just asking for xbox to be labeled properly, if possible.  The way it is currently, it makes me think that the gaming aspect is being incorrectly prioritized because it is labeled as a torrent.

Could you post some pics of what your seeing regarding classification for examples?

Glad this version is working well. Seems to be getting there. Hope for one or two more good releases.  ::)

This version of firmware is the best for me, so far, thanks for that.

I am wondering if/when we will get proper classification of data.  Xbox one does not get classified (I think it gets classified as bittorrent), call of duty comes up when I am playing a different game all together.  Watching an Amazon video it gets classified as both Amazon video AND web video, not sure that is necessary. Also, gets classified at "Best fit" even when the device it is playing on has been listed as top priority.

If the prioritization of devices does not mean anything, I would like to have the ability to prioritize protocols or applications myself.  I don't know if that is possible, but I thought I would throw that out there.

My router has actually been up for 8 days and I have not seen any other issues.

Thanks guys,
DJ
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

djid10t

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #49 on: February 17, 2015, 09:21:58 AM »

Here is a better shot. It was a 30 min show.  Also there is the bit torrent and Call of Duty, I was playing Destiny all that time :-[.

http://gyazo.com/af7abd4f83c7d21ceb96836b8b367157

Edit: Just noticed that under web there is a Green section matching the videos.  Now, I wonder if it is getting classified 3 times.  Sheesh.  Just to reiterate, the video is the only thing going on at that time. No one on xbox or watching another video.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2015, 09:25:36 AM by djid10t »
Logged
DGL-5500, DGL-4500, DIR-825(Running DD-WRT), DAP-1350, DI-524 - XBOX 360, XBOX One, Alienware m11x r2, m14x, Dell Venue Pro 8 tablet

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #50 on: February 17, 2015, 10:08:03 AM »

Ok so the color is correct however your seeing additional stuff while it's streaming. Can you clear the history and data from the ruoter and then do the Amazon video stream again? Make sure nothing else is online. Just the one PC and all other apps are closed.

Here is a better shot. It was a 30 min show.  Also there is the bit torrent and Call of Duty, I was playing Destiny all that time :-[.

http://gyazo.com/af7abd4f83c7d21ceb96836b8b367157

Edit: Just noticed that under web there is a Green section matching the videos.  Now, I wonder if it is getting classified 3 times.  Sheesh.  Just to reiterate, the video is the only thing going on at that time. No one on xbox or watching another video.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Larz1695

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #51 on: February 19, 2015, 07:12:46 AM »

Played Destiny on the Xbox One last night.  Comes up bittorrent AND for some reason CoD comes up.  I do not use any kind of torrent and what you see above was what is recorded just from my xbox.
Not asking for Destiny to be labeled, just asking for xbox to be labeled properly, if possible.  The way it is currently, it makes me think that the gaming aspect is being incorrectly prioritized because it is labeled as a torrent.
I had the same issue.  I also had a lot of "Noah's Ark" errors as well.  The game became much more stable when I disabled SB.
One of the other problems I had involved the priorities randomly changing themselves after awhile.  This error is hard to pinpoint but seems to happen after a couple hours of runtime.  I have no idea what is causing it and it is just easier at this point to shut off SB.  Something tells me it is just a freak thing and will be ironed out when the official comes out.
Other than that the firmware is solid.  Pretty darn spiffy for a beta.  Can't wait for the real deal.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #52 on: February 19, 2015, 07:20:05 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?

What is "Noah's Ark" errors? Can you be more detailed about this? Post a picture of this error?
 Adding Screenshots In A Post


Played Destiny on the Xbox One last night.  Comes up bittorrent AND for some reason CoD comes up.  I do not use any kind of torrent and what you see above was what is recorded just from my xbox.
Not asking for Destiny to be labeled, just asking for xbox to be labeled properly, if possible.  The way it is currently, it makes me think that the gaming aspect is being incorrectly prioritized because it is labeled as a torrent.
I had the same issue.  I also had a lot of "Noah's Ark" errors as well.  The game became much more stable when I disabled SB.
One of the other problems I had involved the priorities randomly changing themselves after awhile.  This error is hard to pinpoint but seems to happen after a couple hours of runtime.  I have no idea what is causing it and it is just easier at this point to shut off SB.  Something tells me it is just a freak thing and will be ironed out when the official comes out.
Other than that the firmware is solid.  Pretty darn spiffy for a beta.  Can't wait for the real deal.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #53 on: February 23, 2015, 01:22:39 PM »

Any status on this?  ???

Played Destiny on the Xbox One last night.  Comes up bittorrent AND for some reason CoD comes up.  I do not use any kind of torrent and what you see above was what is recorded just from my xbox.
Not asking for Destiny to be labeled, just asking for xbox to be labeled properly, if possible.  The way it is currently, it makes me think that the gaming aspect is being incorrectly prioritized because it is labeled as a torrent.
I had the same issue.  I also had a lot of "Noah's Ark" errors as well.  The game became much more stable when I disabled SB.
One of the other problems I had involved the priorities randomly changing themselves after awhile.  This error is hard to pinpoint but seems to happen after a couple hours of runtime.  I have no idea what is causing it and it is just easier at this point to shut off SB.  Something tells me it is just a freak thing and will be ironed out when the official comes out.
Other than that the firmware is solid.  Pretty darn spiffy for a beta.  Can't wait for the real deal.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Larz1695

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #54 on: February 23, 2015, 01:29:59 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?

What is "Noah's Ark" errors? Can you be more detailed about this? Post a picture of this error?
 Adding Screenshots In A Post
Clarksville, TN
Wired with CAT 6a
Factory reset before and after firmware update but settings were restored from save file

I thought it worked pretty well before the updates.  I think it was 1.01 when I got it.

Charter Cable
Arris TM822A
DHCP
Advertised 60/4 and it's roughly 51/3.5 with SB on ABE off and about 65.5/4.5 with SB off.

If you go to http://help.bungie.net/ you'll see that they use the names of animals to classify networking errors.  They're referred to as Noah's Ark errors if you get multiple different animals in one day/session.  I did not take notes as to the specifics of the errors since turning off SB fixed the issue but the notes I remember reading referred to possible ISP routing issues because of high traffic and/or possible router firewall issues.  All I know is I've cut down on Destiny network errors dramatically since turning off SB.

Is there any difference between the official release and the beta release?
« Last Edit: February 23, 2015, 02:01:17 PM by Larz1695 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #55 on: February 24, 2015, 07:02:37 AM »

Have you tried going back to v1.01 to see if there is any differences?

What happens with SB and ABE enabled on v1.13?

The only differences I think between Beta and Officially Released FW is that Release has gone thru there test labs, where Beta has not or is about to and is made available to forum users if they choose to help test it out and give feed back.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Larz1695

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #56 on: February 25, 2015, 05:43:23 AM »

Have you tried going back to v1.01 to see if there is any differences?

What happens with SB and ABE enabled on v1.13?
I'm sorry but that is not an option.  I'm sure the hardware itself is ok considering the significant drop in errors with SB disabled.

VERY apprehensive to try this considering the amount of errors with the 1.13B04 beta.  I wish that Qualcom would indicate whether or not it has made updates to SB or not when I access the router.  Once I get some sort of confirmation on an update to SB I will give this a shot.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #57 on: February 25, 2015, 07:54:36 AM »

Well as a test you can enable SB and ABE for a while and test to see what you find out. Then disable SB and ABE afterwards.

We don't know what QC does and will do. You could attempt to contact QC directly to see if they have any information regarding this particular problem and see if they can give you any help.

The more they know the more they are apt to do something. We need to be proactive in helping D-Link and QC in any final problems so that they can correct them before any and all development stops and D-Link moves on to other things. I know that QC should be supporting Sb updates till 2017 from what is displayed on the router. After that, I don't know what will happen. Over all, I agree that it's not been a great ride for everyone, including D-Link. We all had high hopes for a great follow on to the 4500, and everyone already knows, the 5500 may not not quite lived up to expectations on certain levels. It's been a crazy ride.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Larz1695

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #58 on: February 26, 2015, 07:48:36 AM »

Well as a test you can enable SB and ABE for a while and test to see what you find out. Then disable SB and ABE afterwards.

We don't know what QC does and will do. You could attempt to contact QC directly to see if they have any information regarding this particular problem and see if they can give you any help.

The more they know the more they are apt to do something. We need to be proactive in helping D-Link and QC in any final problems so that they can correct them before any and all development stops and D-Link moves on to other things. I know that QC should be supporting Sb updates till 2017 from what is displayed on the router. After that, I don't know what will happen. Over all, I agree that it's not been a great ride for everyone, including D-Link. We all had high hopes for a great follow on to the 4500, and everyone already knows, the 5500 may not not quite lived up to expectations on certain levels. It's been a crazy ride.
Bungie has pushed a new update for Destiny.  The details are at https://www.bungie.net/en/News/News?aid=12607.  It says in the notes:

•Improved networking resilience to packet reordering
•Networking improvements for certain routers

Does that mean 5500?  Does that mean the traffic will now be properly identified?  Who can say.  I don't even think D-Link themselves could get any answers from those guys considering how tight lipped they are and there penchant for keeping secrets.  This does, however, give me a good reason to try SB again.  I will do another flash on the firmware using the 5500 method just to be safe.  I must decline on the ABE, though.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #59 on: February 26, 2015, 07:55:51 AM »

Let us know how it goes. I presume anything that Bungie does only effects there games and may not effect SB or anything related unless Bungie and QC have development ties.

Please test with ABE enabled first then disable it after testing and compare notes. Let us know it goes.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5