• November 28, 2021, 12:33:28 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed  (Read 1159 times)

erashishpadhy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« on: July 16, 2021, 02:34:03 AM »

Hello,
My ISP provides me 300Mbps speed internet but when i am connecting to Dlink DIR816 router through 5G Wifi its provides up to 100mbps only.
How DIR 816 supports 750Mbps speed.

D-Link DIR-816 Wireless AC750 Dual Band Router

Regards
Ashish
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2021, 06:52:56 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2021, 09:04:43 AM »

The DIR-816's LAN/WAN ports are only 10/100, not gigabit. The MAX speed through the ethernet ports is 100Mbps. You need a router with Gigabit (10/100/1000) ports.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2021, 09:07:30 AM »

That would be the cause. Forgot to check that... ::)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2021, 09:08:43 AM »

 8)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2021, 09:09:45 AM »

Thought most of the 8 series routers were 1000. I know the 810L wasn't. ??? Good to know.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

erashishpadhy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2021, 02:52:15 AM »

Yes looks like port is the issue. All ports are 10/100
Then D-Link making false statements that it supports 300mbps 2.5 ghz and 450mbps 5ghz. Very shameful....
Now how to fix it??
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2021, 07:25:30 AM »

Doesn't mean it's false advertising.
Do you have a wifi device that supports 300Mpbs on 2.4Ghz and 450Mpbs on 5Ghz, if you do then these are connection rates between the router and wifi devices. Not actual bandwidth throughput.  ::)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

erashishpadhy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2021, 08:35:22 PM »

Yes, this is false advertising. My ISP providing 300Mbps speed, my laptop supports 300Mbps speed when directly attached. Now when ISP connect to router and then trying to access wifi its cap till 100mbps only. Then how Dlink claiming  750Mbps???
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: How to configure DIR 816 to support 300Mbps speed
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2021, 10:20:04 AM »

The claim is for the WIFi spec/speed, not Internet. But I agree with your frustration and how it can be misleading.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2021, 10:23:28 AM by GreenBay42 »
Logged