• July 19, 2024, 07:21:32 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How To Use Access Control  (Read 5707 times)

Choccroissants

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
How To Use Access Control
« on: December 02, 2014, 03:03:43 PM »

Good day,

I was wondering if someone can point me on how to use Access control. Assuming I can use this feature to block a game (League of Legends) I am doing this to limit how much my kid plays. I've got up to the point where you enter the policy name, schedule, computers to choose, and so on. My only problem is the start IP dest and end IP dest. As I understand I can leave those at default 0.0.0.0 and 225.225.225.225. Doing so will block all IP address I believe. Problem is. Dlink won't allow me to leave it at that. Instead I am required to put in an IP address of some sort. In which case, I do not know how. if there are other options besides Access Control that does work. Please let me know. Any form of help is appreciated. Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How To Use Access Control
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2014, 03:29:20 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

For Start IP and End IP dest, reserve the IP address for the device that you are managing, Then input this one IP address you reserved into the Start and End IP Dest fields. This will tell the router to manage only this one particular IP address thats reserved for the one particular device.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Choccroissants

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How To Use Access Control
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2014, 03:38:48 PM »

Thank you for the fast reply. I think that meant to put one IP address in both fields. Ill update you on if it worked or not. Thank you.
Logged

Choccroissants

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How To Use Access Control
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2014, 03:52:04 PM »

No luck. Im not sure what to do anymore. Unless I have to enable some sort of option outside of Access Control.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How To Use Access Control
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2014, 03:58:04 PM »

Did you set up a schedule as well?

To set up scheduling:
1. Reserve device IP addresses ON the router under Setup/Networking.
2. Set up a schedule under Tools/Schedule on the routers web page. Customize your dates and times here.
3. Use Access Control under Advanced to apply the customized schedule to a policy and to the PC(s) desired to be controlled. 
4. Ensure Time is set correctly on the router. Tools/Time.

Then include the schedule in the access control policy.

No luck. Im not sure what to do anymore. Unless I have to enable some sort of option outside of Access Control.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Choccroissants

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How To Use Access Control
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2014, 04:02:47 PM »

I've tried that as well. No luck.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How To Use Access Control
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2014, 04:07:55 PM »

It should work.

The device is still connecting?
Be sure to save settings, reboot the router and the PC. Be sure that the PC is set for automatic obtain IP addressing only. Use no static IPs on the PC.

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?


« Last Edit: December 02, 2014, 04:10:42 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Choccroissants

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How To Use Access Control
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2014, 04:53:12 PM »

Thanks for your help. Tried and still no luck though.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How To Use Access Control
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2014, 07:59:25 PM »

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.