• March 28, 2024, 01:36:44 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8

Author Topic: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue  (Read 99660 times)

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #30 on: March 15, 2010, 07:03:53 PM »

That was the issue.

What happen was (See the duplicate on the input?)

The utelnetd and my putty/telnet seem to be sending double enter per input.
Code: [Select]
Command (m for help):
Command (m for help): d

Partition number (1-4):
Partition number (1-4): 1

Command (m for help):
Command (m for help): n
Command action
   e   extended
   p   primary partition (1-4)
Command action
   e   extended
   p   primary partition (1-4)
p
Partition number (1-4):
Partition number (1-4): 1
First sector (63-3907029167, default 63): 64

Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #31 on: March 15, 2010, 07:13:16 PM »

it might be your client, what telnet client are you using?

windoze telnet? http://www.computerhope.com/telnethl.htm
That was the issue.

What happen was (See the duplicate on the input?)

The utelnetd and my putty/telnet seem to be sending double enter per input.

anyway, extra local_echo should not affect the partitions that you create or delete,
it just looks irritating, that's all
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 07:15:49 PM by TimeZlicer »
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #32 on: March 15, 2010, 08:56:17 PM »

I'm using both putty and telnet (from win XP)

and try to set/unset the LOCAL_ECHO

That don't seem to help.

Still it is 2 x ## when I do anything and press enter.
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #33 on: March 17, 2010, 12:50:50 AM »

i am not sure why you are getting double echo...

there is a ssh server in D-Link firmware, you can give it a try
/usr/sbin/sshd
if it works you can ssh to your DNS-343 instead of telnet and hopefully solve your double echo issue

try starting it from the telnet session and see if it works, then change your fun_plug script
I'm using both putty and telnet (from win XP)

and try to set/unset the LOCAL_ECHO

That don't seem to help.

Still it is 2 x ## when I do anything and press enter.
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #34 on: March 17, 2010, 08:41:49 AM »

How do you start the SSHD on DNS-343?

Mine ended like this.

Code: [Select]
# /usr/sbin/sshd start
/usr/local/etc/sshd_config: No such file or directory

If I try to run ssh-keygen

# ssh-keygen
Generating public/private rsa key pair.
Enter file in which to save the key (/mnt/HD_a2/Anonymous_ftp/.ssh/id_rsa):

Could not create directory '/mnt/HD_a2/Anonymous_ftp/.ssh'.
Enter passphrase (empty for no passphrase):
Enter same passphrase again:
open /mnt/HD_a2/Anonymous_ftp/.ssh/id_rsa failed: No such file or directory.
Saving the key failed: /mnt/HD_a2/Anonymous_ftp/.ssh/id_rsa.
#

Strange...
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #35 on: March 17, 2010, 06:27:40 PM »

try this
Code: [Select]
/usr/sbin/ssh_daemon start
How do you start the SSHD on DNS-343?
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #36 on: March 17, 2010, 07:11:33 PM »

Hum Still no luck.

Code: [Select]
# /usr/sbin/ssh_daemon start
$Generating SSH2 DSA host key: $DSA key generation

Starting sshd:/etc/ssh/sshd_config line 13: Unsupported option GSSAPIAuthentication
/etc/ssh/sshd_config line 14: Unsupported option GSSAPICleanupCredentials
/etc/ssh/sshd_config line 15: Unsupported option UsePAM
Privilege separation user sshd does not exist
#
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #37 on: March 17, 2010, 07:53:05 PM »

did your telnet (double echo) caused you any problem when you try to fdisk?
i would think double echo is just a visual thing and should not affect...
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #38 on: March 17, 2010, 07:56:12 PM »

But it caused the "using default 1st sector 63"
That options...
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #39 on: March 17, 2010, 07:58:51 PM »

can you post the output of
Code: [Select]
printenv
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #40 on: March 17, 2010, 08:02:18 PM »

Code: [Select]
# printenv
printenv: No such file or directory
#
# printenv
printenv: No such file or directory

But env will show this

Code: [Select]
# env
USER=root
OLDPWD=/
HOME=/
TERM=vt102
PATH=/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/bin/busybox3.dir
SHELL=/bin/sh
PWD=/mnt/HD_a2/lnx_bin
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #41 on: March 17, 2010, 08:08:02 PM »

try the following
Code: [Select]
export TERM=xtermand
Code: [Select]
export TERM=linux
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #42 on: March 17, 2010, 08:26:30 PM »

ok what happen after that?

Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #43 on: March 17, 2010, 08:28:47 PM »

it changes the terminal emulation, try both (1 by 1) and see if they get rid of your double echo
ok what happen after that?
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #44 on: March 18, 2010, 11:00:40 AM »

Er.. sorry I don't quite get what you meant...
any guide?

Thank You

it changes the terminal emulation, try both (1 by 1) and see if they get rid of your double echo
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8