• March 28, 2024, 03:27:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: VLAN and associated questions  (Read 10018 times)

tropolite

• Level 1 Member
VLAN and associated questions
« on: June 06, 2014, 10:47:03 AM »

Hi

I'm still learning about VLANing and network architecture in general. Below is a scenario I've run into that I'm having trouble with and hope someone much more capable than I can lead me in the right direction.

I have established 3 VLANs on DGS-1210-10 pair of switches.
(default VID #1) untagged 1-10
LAN VID #20          tagged 1-5 and 9
WLAN VID #30       tagged 1-5 and 9
OPS VID #50          tagged 6-9
I have Single Mode fibre (port 9) linking these two switches together.
My trouble seems to be with the equipment I'm attempting to connect on VLAN#50. There are two ports being used for this equipment 192.168.50.132 and 135 (ports 6 and 7). However when I connect both to the switch the connection fails, and brings down the switch. (these two patch leads come from an unmanaged switch which is not a DLink device). If I just connect one patch lead all is fine. (I have not enabled asymmetric VLAN - not too sure what it is).

I've just finished watching a couple hours of VLAN Tuts on YouTube (they were specifically on Cisco gear), but they were specifically focussing on port VLANs and didn't talk about tagging, I'm presuming they are one in the same? Then they discussed trunking, but DLink's trunking seems completely different.

My question is am I using the tagging of ports correctly and assuming tagging is similar to Cisco's trunking methods (i.e. placing multiple VLAN tags on the one port), and if I have an error in my structure I'd appreciate pointing it out.

Appreciate any guidance
Cheers

FurryNutz

• Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲