• December 06, 2021, 07:48:27 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node  (Read 2630 times)

fermulator

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node
« on: January 04, 2021, 04:44:03 PM »

Hi all,

I own a 3-pack COVR-C1213 -- and have purchased an additional pack.

As those familiar with the product will know, the COVR points ship like this:
1. COVR "A" (primary) (COVR-C1210)
2. COVR "B|C" (secondary) (COVR-C1213)

As I can see it, COVR A units run `1.01b##`, and B|C|... units run `1.08b##` (as of Jan 2021)

I confirmed with  D-Link support today that this is expected (the primary unit is actually model C1210, and runs a different firmware than the secondary units C1213).

These firmwares are individually downloadable here:
https://support.dlink.ca/ProductInfo.aspx?m=COVR-C1210
https://support.dlink.ca/ProductInfo.aspx?m=COVR-C1213

So certainly the 2nd pack's "B|C" (which we'll call "F|G" now) will be completely fine, plug them into your network and they'll sync up.
But the 2nd pack's "A" (which we'll call "E" now) will be in "primary node" mode ... so how can we force it into a "secondary node" role?

Today I tried to force flash firmware the COVR-C1210 unit to a COVR-C1213 firmware but it is rejected/failed.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2021, 08:27:46 PM »

Something to contact D-Link support about.

Good Luck.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

gjs

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2021, 03:24:38 AM »

Similar situation, so interested in the outcome.

I was under the impression that the second "A", would realise it's a B, in an already existing mesh, and starts acting like it.
I plugged it in, and 'connected'. But just the other day. so can't tell if there are side effects.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2021, 03:09:51 PM »

Any progress on this?

Hi all,

I own a 3-pack COVR-C1213 -- and have purchased an additional pack.

As those familiar with the product will know, the COVR points ship like this:
1. COVR "A" (primary) (COVR-C1210)
2. COVR "B|C" (secondary) (COVR-C1213)

As I can see it, COVR A units run `1.01b##`, and B|C|... units run `1.08b##` (as of Jan 2021)

I confirmed with  D-Link support today that this is expected (the primary unit is actually model C1210, and runs a different firmware than the secondary units C1213).

These firmwares are individually downloadable here:
https://support.dlink.ca/ProductInfo.aspx?m=COVR-C1210
https://support.dlink.ca/ProductInfo.aspx?m=COVR-C1213

So certainly the 2nd pack's "B|C" (which we'll call "F|G" now) will be completely fine, plug them into your network and they'll sync up.
But the 2nd pack's "A" (which we'll call "E" now) will be in "primary node" mode ... so how can we force it into a "secondary node" role?

Today I tried to force flash firmware the COVR-C1210 unit to a COVR-C1213 firmware but it is rejected/failed.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fermulator

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2021, 07:29:29 AM »

Here's the official responses from D-Link support:

> > To add an additional COVR units to an existing COVR network, you can use the WPS buttons on the devices. The WPS will be the small button with the 2 arrows in a circle. Plug in a new COVR unit and wait for the light to go to the flashing yellow amber. Press the WPS button on the COVR unit for 2-3 seconds (light will start to flashing white). Press the WPS button on one of the existing COVR units on the network for 2-3 seconds. It will start to flash white as well. The devices will take approximately 2 minutes to complete the connection. They should both return to solid white indicating they are connected to the same network.
>
> > If the new device goes back to flashing amber/yellow, it wasn't able to connect. You can try the WPS buttons again. Possible causes for the connection to fail may be the firmware version on the new COVR devices is significantly older. You may need to set the new COVR units up as a router, upgrade the firmware, and reset the new units back to factory defaults and proceed with the WPS buttons again.

---
> ============Begin of Original Message===========
> Thanks for the information. I think that procedure assumes wireless connectivity. (using the WPS feature)
>
> I am using the COVR-C1213 devices using wired backhaul. Please advise in that case.
>
> Also it is still unclear to me -- I am looking for central management of ALL COVR units -- so if the 2nd pack's COVRA is running its own "management/interface" -- will it relinquish control to the 1st pack's COVRA?

---
> Adding the devices via wired backhaul will be even simpler. You will simply need to connect the COVR units to the network via ethernet connection. Power them on, and wait for 5 minutes. If the devices haven't been configured, they will be detected by the existing system and automatically added. If the new COVR devices were previously configured, you would need to reset them back to factory default before connecting them to the existing network.

---
============Begin of Original Message===========
thanks! and all the new COVR units will be managed by my original main COVR A?

Yes. The unit acting as the central management unit will acquire access to the new COVR devices.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2021, 09:19:43 AM »

Good to hear. Glad you got it working.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

fermulator

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2021, 03:35:25 PM »

PS: just to clarify I haven't tested this yet (and probably never will at this point due to the myriad of bugs/issues with the product) - but wanted to share the "official response" from support in case someone else can benefit there :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2021, 10:43:56 AM »

What "myriad of bugs/issues" are there?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

tedmac

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2021, 04:05:59 PM »

I've had a 1203 system for a couple of years, and just bought a 1202 system in order to add two more nodes to the network.

I've been trying to get my second COVR A point to attach to the network via both methods described above, but it doesn't seem to work so far.  I think D-Link Support was simply describing how to add additional B nodes to the network.  I've tried both the WPS method and the wired backhaul method (my original three points have always been connected via wired), and the B node attached right away when connected to a cable.  The A node doesn't want to sync via either method, although it does seem to get picked up and assigned the same SSID as the original grouping.

My original A is running in bridge mode.  Not sure if that's a factor here or not.  Any ideas anyone?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: how to convert COVR A primary to secondary node
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2021, 09:30:14 AM »

Is the FW updated to be the same on the 1202 first before trying to add it to the current 1203 system?

I've had a 1203 system for a couple of years, and just bought a 1202 system in order to add two more nodes to the network.

I've been trying to get my second COVR A point to attach to the network via both methods described above, but it doesn't seem to work so far.  I think D-Link Support was simply describing how to add additional B nodes to the network.  I've tried both the WPS method and the wired backhaul method (my original three points have always been connected via wired), and the B node attached right away when connected to a cable.  The A node doesn't want to sync via either method, although it does seem to get picked up and assigned the same SSID as the original grouping.

My original A is running in bridge mode.  Not sure if that's a factor here or not.  Any ideas anyone?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.