• April 18, 2024, 05:05:35 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Am I missing something with the DCS-8600LH-US, or is really this ... limited?  (Read 7781 times)

kwende

• Level 1 Member

Five years ago my wife and I purchased our first mydlink camera and were thrilled to use it as a remote security camera and also as a baby monitor. We bought several, and started checking in on our house remotely, and also watching our kids with them in their cribs, etc. We loved them. I'm also a computer vision researcher and software developer, I started loving the fact I could interact with the cameras over RTSP, etc.

Fast forward to today, and I bought a DCS-8600LH-US. Perhaps I didn't read the advertisements very well, but what I discovered is I basically bought a paperweight when compared to the cameras of the past. I seem unable to connect to it away from home to see a live stream. Watching the network traffic, it seems that it's trying to access the camera's home IP? Does that mean I no longer can use this camera via the app when I'm away? Also -- I have no access to it via the web, or via RTSP, which is extremely disappointing.

I noticed they are trafficking everything over port 443, and so I imagine it wouldn't take much for me to hack the camera and get at what I needed (I've done this before with other devices via man in the middle attack), but I'd rather get what I paid for as opposed to salvaging this unit. Before returning it, am I missing something, or is this camera really this feature-deficient? And if so, where does it say anywhere other than in forums that these features have been removed from the camera?