• June 28, 2022, 01:36:12 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router falling back to FE(100Mbps) instead of staying at GE(1000Mbps)  (Read 2659 times)

abd_riz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

Hi,

My router details,

Model - DIR-825AC
HW Rev - G1
FW - 2.0.5
Country - India

It is a dual-band router that supports Gigabit Ethernet(GE) on all 4 LAN ports and 1 WAN port. My problem is that I am unable to take advantage of GE speeds.

--

I am using my D-Link router as an Access Point, I have an upstream ONT unit, which supports Gigabit Ethernet 1000Mbps-Full Duplex and I have connected ONT's LAN port to one of the LAN ports of my DIR-825AC, using a CAT 5E cable. Apart from setting the LAN Local Address and disabling DHCP, no other settings have been changed in the router.

Sometimes it straightaway detects it as 100M Full(as seen from Router's Web UI->Advanced->Port Settings->Speed)
At other times it detects it as 1000M Full, but in a few hours it switches back to 100M-Full and it never goes back to 1000M-Full. When this happens, I noticed the below in the Router's log

-------
Jan  1 05:58:04 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is down!
Jan  1 05:58:06 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is up! 1000full
Jan  1 05:58:07 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is down!
Jan  1 05:58:10 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is up! 1000full
Jan  1 05:58:11 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is down!
Jan  1 05:58:13 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is up! 1000full
Jan  1 05:58:16 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is down!
Jan  1 05:58:20 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is up! 1000full
Jan  1 05:58:21 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is down!
Jan  1 05:58:23 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is up! 1000full
Jan  1 05:58:24 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is down!
Jan  1 05:58:33 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is up! 1000full
Jan  1 05:58:37 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is down!
Jan  1 05:58:48 kernel: [RTL_NIC]: LAN1 is up! 100full
-------

Troubleshooting so far,

  • Ruled out the upstream router's issue, by connecting a laptop capable of 1000M directly to a laptop that has a 1GbE port and it detects it as 1000M Connection and stays at 1000M even after days of continuous use.
  • Ruled out the Ethernet patch cable issue by trying out different cables and the issue persisted
  • Ruled out port issue on D-Link unit by trying out all the 4 LAN ports, issue persists
  • Even tried connecting the Ethernet cable directly to the WAN port, issue persists
  • Reset both the routers to factory settings, issue persists
  • Disabled flow control on D-Link unit, issue persists
  • If I try to disable auto-negotiation and force 1000M-Full, LAN port doesn't come up
  • Even flashed the FW to the same version, no help

So despite my every attempt to troubleshoot the issue, I am still unable to get over this problem.

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Please note, my FW is a custom ISP FW, http://dlink.co.in/firmware/ftp.aspx --> DIR-825 G1 ACT

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49916
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Did the 825 come from an ISP? IF so, you'll need to contact the ISP for help and support information regarding this since custom FW is loaded.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

abd_riz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

Appreciate the response @FurryNutz

Sadly, it did come from ISP, but I am afraid I cannot engage them for this issue as I have already switched providers.

--

Would it help if I flash to a more generic 825 G1 firmware from http://dlink.co.in/firmware/ftp.aspx --> 825 G1

All the versions listed in the above link are newer than my current fw which is 2.0.5

  • 7.01
  • 2019.09.16-12.41_DIR_825AC_G1A_3.0.6_internal
  • 20170914_1817_DIR_825AC_G1A_TBS_develop_sdk-master   

--

I understand that a fw update will not necessarily fix the problem, but atleast I will be at a more mainstream fw for further debugging.


« Last Edit: May 19, 2021, 07:50:00 AM by abd_riz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49916
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Not sure if you can put stock FW on something that came from an ISP. I suppose you can try it.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

abd_riz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

Thanks, I will give it a shot, which of the 3 versions listed above, would you recommend
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49916
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Try v3.0.6. It will either load and hopefully boot to ready or you will get a message saying wrong version of FW when you try to send it. If you get this message then you can load stock FW.

I recommend that you put the router back in to router mode first, then try sending the FW file.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2021, 10:40:40 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

abd_riz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

Thanks.

Successfully updated FW to 3.0.6, unfortunately the problem still persists.

Is 3.0.6, the latest and greatest version ?

The pdf file in firmware link says so, though 7.01, logically, appears to be a higher version.
Logged

abd_riz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6

FYI.

After the FW update, I reset the device to factory.

LAN, Wifi(both bands) works as it used to before FW update.

---

Now that I am in a more mainstream FW, any further steps to triage the issue ?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49916
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Might try the v7 FW and see if this changes anything, if not, maybe a hardware problem or failure.

Try the unit at a different location to see if problem follows if you can. Friend or families place. If problem still follows, I would presume there is a hardware problem with the unit.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.