• December 07, 2022, 01:10:42 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: COVR connection question  (Read 13209 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: COVR connection question
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2020, 10:57:00 AM »

I'd like you contact D-Link support via chat or email and log a case with D-Link. Please include the following:
Brand/model and EXACT clients that are not working (versions) and what apps and services are not working.
https://support.dlink.com/search.aspx
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

LeLion74

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: COVR connection question
« Reply #16 on: May 20, 2020, 12:39:55 PM »

HI,
I'm looking to buy the COVR‑1102. It seems to be close to the COVR-C1203.
I want to know if it is possible to have such a setup :
                               / COVR 1
ISP Modem - Switch -- COVR 2
                               \ COVR 3
I have a gigabit ethernet wall outlet in each room all connected to a swicth in the garage.
It should normaly work if COVR support AP mode.
Does anyone have a setup like this ?
Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: COVR connection question
« Reply #17 on: May 20, 2020, 03:48:37 PM »

                                                / COVR B
ISP Modem  --> COVR A<-->Switch
                                                \ COVR B

Is how this will work.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

LeLion74

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: COVR connection question
« Reply #18 on: May 20, 2020, 10:19:04 PM »

Thankfs for the answer.

Even in "AP mode" it's not possible to have such a setup ?
They cannot work together if they are directly connected to the ISP router ?
The "B" must be chained through the "A" for this to work: Logical in router mode, but this seems to me to be a limitation in AP mode.

From my understanding TP Link models support this setup in AP mode.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: COVR connection question
« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2020, 06:20:47 AM »

Something you can try and see. I've always connected B points behind the A Point to ensure good connection with the system. Getting in parallel to a upstream router can cause problems or the router may not route the A and B point traffic correctly. Let us know what you find out.

D-Link and TP-Link are two different companies. Not to be confused as being the same. Thank you.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

LeLion74

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: COVR connection question
« Reply #20 on: May 21, 2020, 12:55:39 PM »

Something you can try and see. I've always connected B points behind the A Point to ensure good connection with the system. Getting in parallel to a upstream router can cause problems or the router may not route the A and B point traffic correctly. Let us know what you find out.

D-Link and TP-Link are two different companies. Not to be confused as being the same. Thank you.

I know  ;)
I'm looking for the D-Link because of the wifi schedule feature (I want to turn off wifi at nigth) -> TP-Link Deco doesn't have this
As I have ethernet wall outlet in each room. For best performance, I want to use a star configuration on a unmanaged switch -> TP-Link Deco support such a setup

In Europe D-Llink 1102 sounds great : Ethernet backhaul, Bridge mode with last firmware (I think it's "Access Point" mode) and certified EasyMesh
https://eu.dlink.com/se/sv/-/media/consumer_products/covr/1102/datasheet/covr_1102_datasheet_en_eu.pdf

Maybe I will try and see  :D
Logged

dindin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: COVR connection question
« Reply #21 on: April 25, 2021, 12:59:08 AM »

HI,
I'm looking to buy the COVR‑1102. It seems to be close to the COVR-C1203.
I want to know if it is possible to have such a setup :
                               / COVR 1
ISP Modem - Switch -- COVR 2
                               \ COVR 3
I have a gigabit ethernet wall outlet in each room all connected to a swicth in the garage.
It should normaly work if COVR support AP mode.
Does anyone have a setup like this ?
Thanks.

Hi, I have this setup with 2 COVR nodes.

I put them in Bridge mode and connected them directly to a router to function as APs. However I had to configure them one by one while the other one is powered off. Otherwise it will try to add it to the mesh as intended by default.
For each module it went like this - reset -> finish configuration -> switch to bridge -> change SSID / password -> power off -> next node.
Then I powered both nodes and voila.
 
To my surprise steering and roaming did work, the client device did switch between bands and nodes when moving around the house, probably when signal degraded a lot.

I am not a fan of one single SSID for both 2.4 and 5Ghz, but unfortunately you can't change that. Plus in the original FW I haven't seen an option to change channels, which is a big drawback.
But anyway - this kind of setup does work.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2021, 03:22:58 AM by dindin »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]