• December 15, 2017, 05:29:52 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: UPNP Questions!!!  (Read 1536 times)

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
UPNP Questions!!!
« on: April 19, 2017, 11:48:14 PM »

Background: I have a number of DLINK cams. ALL cams have the latest firmware.  Due to a bad modem, had to swap it out for a new one. Modem and router are working fine following the change.
I had UPNP disabled on router and could access the cams remotely via the mydlink app prior to the modem swap. However, post modem swap, I cannot access the cams remotely but they work locally fine.
I believe the issue is due to UPNP being off.  My question is what are the desired settings for UPNP in order for the cams to work remotely? I think the answer is:
1)   Enable UPNP in router
2)   Enable UPNP for each cam by logging into its settings
Anything else? http://support.dlink.com/emulators/dcs930l/100/helpadva.htm What about UPNP port fowarding setting on the cam???
I read something about multicasting? Is that relevant? Can you explain it?
« Last Edit: April 19, 2017, 11:50:46 PM by BAMoh »
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 01:19:35 PM »

uPnP should be enabled on the main host router and on cameras. uPnP Port Forwarding should be enabled as well if you have more than one camera I was told by D-Link:
Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2017, 09:26:11 PM »

Thanks, much appreciated.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2017, 09:28:33 PM »

BTW as a follow on question, I had UPNP enabled at one point. Disabled it but found the cams still worked in terms of remote access but found the connection time to be shorter. It was a good trade off.

Am not thinking of leaving UPNP off and accessing/viewing the cams "locally" via VPN. Has anyone tried this and can share information and experience on it?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2017, 10:12:31 PM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2017, 10:40:53 PM »

uPnP should be enabled on the main host router and on cameras. uPnP Port Forwarding should be enabled as well if you have more than one camera I was told by D-Link:
Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com

Is there any order in which this should be done? router first? then cams?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2017, 11:02:53 PM »

uPnP should be enabled on the main host router and on cameras. uPnP Port Forwarding should be enabled as well if you have more than one camera I was told by D-Link:
Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com

Is there any order in which this should be done? router first? then cams?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2017, 09:11:13 AM »

Router first as thats usually enabled by default. Then cameras.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2017, 09:21:14 AM »

I tried turning on upnp on router then upnp on cam then upnp port fwd on cam then reboot router and cam. But it didn't enable remote access.  Can access cams locally but not remotely. Any other suggestions? BTW none of my IOT devices work remotely.  All are solidly online locally.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2017, 11:39:38 PM »

I think what would help is someone detailing what is the proper way to manually set up the cams as opposed ot using the wizard. Is there any one here qualified ot help me with that?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2017, 02:01:33 AM »

Can DLINK provide some COMPETENT HELP?
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2092
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2017, 06:35:00 PM »

Background: I have a number of DLINK cams. ALL cams have the latest firmware.  Due to a bad modem, had to swap it out for a new one. Modem and router are working fine following the change.
I had UPNP disabled on router and could access the cams remotely via the mydlink app prior to the modem swap. However, post modem swap, I cannot access the cams remotely but they work locally fine.
I believe the issue is due to UPNP being off.  My question is what are the desired settings for UPNP in order for the cams to work remotely? I think the answer is:
1)   Enable UPNP in router
2)   Enable UPNP for each cam by logging into its settings
Anything else? http://support.dlink.com/emulators/dcs930l/100/helpadva.htm What about UPNP port fowarding setting on the cam???
I read something about multicasting? Is that relevant? Can you explain it?

Do you still have the same external IP address?
If you got a new modem, your IP address probably changed.
Logged

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2017, 10:52:45 AM »

This issue was solved due to incompatibility between a certain brand of modem and the same brand of router.  The modem could not run in true bridge mode. Swapping it out solved the problem.
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: UPNP Questions!!! (RESOLVED)
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2017, 11:24:26 AM »

What was the model # of the modem? Happen to be a NetGear CM200 would it? Just curious.

What Mfr router do you have and model #?

Glad you figured it out.  ::)
« Last Edit: May 19, 2017, 01:47:54 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BAMoh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 290
Re: UPNP Questions!!!
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2017, 08:22:02 PM »

It's best practice to disable UPNP on your router, cams and also disable port forwarding. MDL doesn't need any of it to run.
http://www.zdnet.com/article/homeland-security-disable-upnp-as-tens-of-millions-at-risk/
Logged
"That's laughable...."  Impress me. Need COMPETENT help.
Pages: [1] 2