• March 28, 2017, 03:13:42 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!  (Read 190 times)

gizmoduck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« on: March 14, 2017, 07:47:28 AM »

Good morning, good afternoon, good evening, whatever:

My doubt:
  Two weeks before I left on vacation came to my work place some technicians to install a NAS, model: DNS-320L

Well, I installed it on my network:

     Router -modem ------> Switch -------> RouterDlink ------> NAS

      There are 2 wifi networks .. According to the technician, to access the NAS I should disable my firewall from my Windows

Then I went on vacation two weeks when I came back I noticed that there was a power outage, I turned it all on and trying to enter via WIFI to the routerd-link I got this:

   "Can not access \\ d-linl06f1 you may not have permissions to use this resource ....

A specified boot session does not exist. "

  And when I connect by cable to the switch asks me for credentials.

  Pd: I as an employee I can not reach and get into the configuration, I would like help

  Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 41460
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 08:34:46 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DNS? Look at the sticker behind or under the device.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DNSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?
Is the local PC connected to the D-Link router as well?
Are you trying to access the DNS from the LAN side or remote from the WAN side?
What IP address is the DNS getting from the D-Link router? Look at the routers connected client table to see IP address there.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gizmoduck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2017, 11:34:44 AM »

Hi Mister : FurryNutz ,  the  sticker behind are these

http://imgur.com/a/Wonpi



http://imgur.com/a/Rzxv9

I wish I could help with these few data that I have.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2017, 11:40:55 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 41460
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2017, 11:41:37 AM »

    What region are you located?


What Mfr and model is the main host router?
Is the local PC connected to the D-Link router as well?
Are you trying to access the DNS from the LAN side or remote from the WAN side?
What IP address is the DNS getting from the D-Link router? Look at the routers connected client table to see IP address there.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1278
Re: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2017, 02:27:12 PM »

A few comments some of which you may not be able to do anything about.

1) in a normal network setup the NAS would be connected to the switch and not through a second router.
2) which of the two routers acts as DHCP server?  If the DHCP server is active in both then it will depend on which one is switched on first which DHCP server takes control and you might end up with a different subnet to what you should have.
3) did the technician leave any information about the setup of the network, login information etc,?  Without that you will be unable to login to your shares on the NAS.
4) what make and model is the modem/router?
5) are the routers, switch and NAS on UPSs?
6) is the switch a managed unit?
7) have you tried getting your manager to get the technicians back to check out the problem?

The most important questions are 2 and 4 followed by 3.

« Last Edit: March 15, 2017, 03:04:50 AM by ivan »
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1278
Re: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2017, 03:20:06 AM »

A few more comments/questions.

Your pictures show the DNS-320L NAS (pic1) and a DGS-1100-08P PoE 8 port smart switch (a semi managed switch).
1) is the DGS-1100 the switch in your diagram or is it the item you have as routerDlonk?
2) do you have access to the DGS web interface?
3) what and where is the DHCP server on the network?
4) you mention WiFi units, what and where are they?  This question is because they too might have active DHCP servers that could be adding to the problem.

By now I expect you have had the technicians back to resolve the problem.  If so, could you tell us what they did to resolve the problem because it will help others later.
 
Logged

gizmoduck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2017, 07:05:39 AM »

thank u all  for ,
I'm already thinking about calling technicians ...

 well ,  the routers acts as DHCP server is  NetGear N600

  the mark rotuter /model is  :
 ( Arris TM 722G) ------->  Router NetGear N600 ---------> Switch Teg -424 ws ----> Router d-link DGS-1100-08p   ( wifi  ssid = Teach ) --- > NAS DNS 320-L

 i have a p PC's connected to switch teg-424ws  and im connected to wifi (  Router d-link DGS-1100-08p     ssid = Teach  )
When I try to connect to the NAS through the PC, I get the message about credentials
and  I try to connect to the NAS through  wifi ( ssid= Teach )   , i get the  message :
     "  Can not access \\ d-linl06f1 you may not have permissions to use this resource ....    A specified boot session does not exist. "
 

  As I said, I'm seriously thinking of calling the technicians, even though I wish I could solve this myself, (you know)
 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 41460
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2017, 07:33:53 AM »

The GDL1100 is switch and sits behind the Teg Switch? I would move the DNS320L to the Teg switch and test to see if you can access the DNS from the PC there. Temporarily remove the DGS100 switch.
The DGS100 is a switch, not a router.
I presume the SSID name is coming from the NetGear router...
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1278
Re: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2017, 05:09:49 AM »

OK, let me see if I have this correct.

Your network consista of;
1) Arris TM722G cable modem,
connected to,
2) Netgear N600 wireless router.  Standard IP 192.168.1.1  with 100Base-T ethernet ports,
connected to,
3) TEG-424WS Part managed Switch.  Basic 100Base-T ethernet ports with 4 gigabit up/down link ports.  Standard IP 192.168.0.1,
connected to,
4) D-Link DGS-1100-08P an 8 port gigabit smart Switch with PoE capabilities.  Standard IP 10.90.90.90,
connected to,
5) D-Link DNS-320L NAS.

At some stage there was a power failure which forced all units to be restarted and because of this you have lost contact with the NAS.  It also appears that you do not have control of those devices and so can not check their settings.

I would say that the main problem is a network setup problem and, unless the power failure has damaged the NAS, has nothing to do with the NAS itself.

If you were able to do the setup checks we would be able to talk you through what to do but it appears that you need to involve the IT support people now.  Sorry.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 41460
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: can't connect to NAS , help me !!!!
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2017, 06:34:50 AM »

It's amazing.  :o
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting