• March 24, 2017, 07:02:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: only setup 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz  (Read 533 times)

fjknat

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
only setup 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz
« on: December 30, 2016, 08:46:02 PM »

Hi,

My router wifi is 842L and wifi adapter card on PC is 548 (N300).
PC used Win 10.
I set 11n and Chanel with = Auto 20/40 Mhz but my PC just show speed < 150Mbps (20 Mhz).  :'(
I want only setup Channel Width = 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz.

Who know setting it ?

Thanks,
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1916
Re: only setup 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2016, 09:19:33 PM »

Hi,

My router wifi is 842L and wifi adapter card on PC is 548 (N300).
PC used Win 10.
I set 11n and Chanel with = Auto 20/40 Mhz but my PC just show speed < 150Mbps (20 Mhz).  :'(
I want only setup Channel Width = 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz.

Who know setting it ?

Thanks,

What is your adapter on your PC?  It might not be capable.

I had a 2016 laptop that was $300 and it only did 20 Mhz and was capped, but the wire was 1 Gb. 
My $700 2008 laptop wireless could do 300 Mbps but only 100 Mbps wired. So go figure.

So we should start with your machine details...
Logged

fjknat

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: only setup 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2016, 03:58:03 AM »

Hi,

My router wifi is 842L and wifi adapter card on PC is 548 (N300).
PC used Win 10.
I set 11n and Chanel with = Auto 20/40 Mhz but my PC just show speed < 150Mbps (20 Mhz).  :'(
I want only setup Channel Width = 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz.

Who know setting it ?

Thanks,

What is your adapter on your PC?  It might not be capable.

I had a 2016 laptop that was $300 and it only did 20 Mhz and was capped, but the wire was 1 Gb. 
My $700 2008 laptop wireless could do 300 Mbps but only 100 Mbps wired. So go figure.

So we should start with your machine details...

I used Dlink DWA-548 PCI, It support 802.11n and N300 (300 Mpbs).
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1916
Re: only setup 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2016, 09:56:06 AM »


http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DIR-842

http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DWA-548

Did you set the DIR842 transmission power to High?

How far is the computer from the router?  Is there any interference, or walls, or tables in between?



   Maximum wireless signal rate derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications. Actual data throughput will vary. Network conditions and environmental factors, including volume of network traffic, building materials and construction, and
networkoverhead, lower actualdata throughputrate. Environmentalfactorswill adversely affectwirelesssignalrange.Wirelessrange andspeedrates areD-LinkRELATIVEperformancemeasurementsbasedonthewirelessrange andspeedrates
of a standardWirelessGproductfrom D-Link. Maximum throughputbased onD-Link 802.11n devices



Which F/W of the DWA-548 are you using?   I see 3 listed.


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 41389
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: only setup 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2016, 12:09:02 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Try using Single mode N, manual channel 11, and WPA2 Personal and AES only on the router.

It's possible that the drivers between the router and this adapter may be incompatible.
Also can you test with Windows 7 or 8 by chance? There is no offical drivers for Windows 10

Hi,

My router wifi is 842L and wifi adapter card on PC is 548 (N300).
PC used Win 10.
I set 11n and Chanel with = Auto 20/40 Mhz but my PC just show speed < 150Mbps (20 Mhz).  :'(
I want only setup Channel Width = 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz.

Who know setting it ?

Thanks,
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 41389
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: only setup 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2017, 10:09:37 AM »

Any status on this?  ???


Hi,

My router wifi is 842L and wifi adapter card on PC is 548 (N300).
PC used Win 10.
I set 11n and Chanel with = Auto 20/40 Mhz but my PC just show speed < 150Mbps (20 Mhz).  :'(
I want only setup Channel Width = 40 Mhz for 2,4 Ghz.

Who know setting it ?

Thanks,
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting