• March 24, 2017, 07:03:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Just bought this camera  (Read 856 times)

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Just bought this camera
« on: December 16, 2016, 02:17:12 PM »

Got a good price on a new unit and it seems to have the features I wanted. I have it set up and runs fine.
The one questions so far is, to access remotely, I have DDNS configured in my DIR-655, do I need that also in the camera? I wouldn't think so, but since testing requires being away on an outside network wanted to minimize any mistakes beforehand.
In the router, I have a TCP port forwarded to the LAN Ip of the camera. Is that all that's needed? On my other camera, not a DLink, that works.
Thanks ahead of time.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1916
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2016, 05:46:18 PM »


In the router, I have a TCP port forwarded to the LAN Ip of the camera. Is that all that's needed? On my other camera, not a DLink, that works.
Thanks ahead of time.

Sounds right.  You should be able to test this at home with your external ip address/port.
Logged

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2016, 09:43:24 AM »

Had someone test from their home and it works.  The other thing I'm wondering about doing is having the emailed motion activated notice be sent to two inboxes, my wife's and mine. Do you suppose two addresses can be entered?
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1916
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2016, 11:22:27 AM »

Had someone test from their home and it works.  The other thing I'm wondering about doing is having the emailed motion activated notice be sent to two inboxes, my wife's and mine. Do you suppose two addresses can be entered?

Very unlikely, but if it was to work, use a semicolon between?  email1@email.com;email2@email.com

Forwarding email from email1@email.com to email2@email.com might work, depending on provider.  I haven't played with that, but it should leave a copy in email1.

Good luck.
 
Logged

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2016, 12:54:49 PM »

Using the semi colon worked. Thanks for that, good guess. Someone may want to store that info somewhere for others.
Logged

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2017, 10:06:57 AM »

It doesn't look like I can set the motion detection times differently my day, for example, start on Saturday at Noon, through Midnight, end on Wednesday at 0800. As far as I can figure it can only be active or inactive for the same period each day enabled.
Logged

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2017, 05:08:53 AM »

I guess not.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1916
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2017, 05:51:08 AM »

It would be in the f/w webpages if it was possible. Anything at mydlink.Com ? (I haven't looked there on years )
Logged

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2017, 07:03:24 AM »

FW pages? I know where to set active motion detection times, just that the hours have to be the same for every day that's enabled.
Logged

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2017, 01:13:25 PM »

And while I'm wishing, how can I get the web plug in for a browser? First time I accessed the camera with Firefox it popped up, same with IE. I'm using Pale Moon now which can utilize many FF plug ins, but accessing the camera doesn't prompt for plug in download.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 41389
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2017, 11:21:43 AM »

You'll need to use IE11 or FF for plug-ins for this camera. I also use PaleMoon however D-Link doesn't support this browser.  :-\
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2017, 07:47:11 PM »

Been away from home for a few weeks and have had to log in and shut this camera down. I get false alarms almost daily, and both times our neighbor came over I got no alarm. I assumed it was responding to changing light, so tried adjusting sensitivity, but when we were texted that the neighbor had come over to water houseplants she walked in, around and out without triggering an email or video.
Is this camera just poor at doing this or is there some tricks to setting it up?
Logged

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2017, 06:58:44 AM »

Nothing, huh? Too late to return it......
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 41389
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2017, 07:15:39 AM »

I'd contact D-Link support and ask for help and info. Possible just a bad unit. Ask for an RMA?
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

fzappa

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Just bought this camera
« Reply #14 on: Today at 03:02:55 PM »

Thanks, just did that via email, as first attempt. I'll call if no response soon. Strabge wording in instructions fir certain. Tried to understand the sensitivity percent setting. One model says to increase the number for more sensitivity whereas another says to set it for what percentage of the alert field needs to be dusturbed, so a smaller number would be more sensitive.
I'm wanting to avoid mydlink, preferring to access directly and use a third party ftp storage site. The problem with that is I have to be wary of too many megs of files going there. I had 28 false alerts last week, in one day. All showed no activity.
Logged