• October 19, 2018, 12:10:07 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Packet loss  (Read 3567 times)

Damiano

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Packet loss
« on: October 25, 2015, 09:36:29 AM »

Hello everyone,

I recently bought the DWA-182 USB wifi adapter. I play League Of Legends and I have packet loss when using my USB adapter instead of my internal wifi.

Do you guys have any idea? Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46005
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Packet loss
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2015, 08:06:11 AM »

What Mfr and model is the main host router?
What wireless modes are you using?

I recommend using a wired LAN cable for any gaming.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Damiano

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Packet loss
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2015, 09:52:57 AM »

Hello, and that for your reply.

I'm using the Apple thing to empower my Wifi strength because my internet box is 2 floors below my room. I am connected in 5GHz in order to get 100MBPS. With my PC wireless, I'd get only 40 in 2.4Ghz.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46005
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Packet loss
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2015, 09:57:33 AM »

Apple thing? What is that?  ???

Ya, 5ghz isn't great with building materials in between. Any chance of getting some PowerLine adapters installed?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Damiano

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Packet loss
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2015, 11:09:02 AM »

Sorry for not being really accurate. I found it, tho : it's called Time Capsule. It's a sort of backup disk but that can strengthen your wifi signal.

Also, I'm using 5ghz because the speed is really improved.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46005
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Packet loss
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2015, 11:12:39 AM »

Can you using single mode N on 5Ghz? Use WPA2 personal only and set auto channel width. Try different channels, 36,48 or 149?
There will probably always be some packet loss while your using this configuration.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Damiano

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Packet loss
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2015, 11:46:19 AM »

Yes, I can use the N mode on 5GHz. I'll try and tell you what.
The WPA2 personnal is for the Time Machine or for my wireless wifi adapter? I will also try different channels, but I think I already tried.

Thank you for your time and help ! 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46005
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Packet loss
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2015, 12:23:21 PM »

Good Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Damiano

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Packet loss
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2015, 01:18:03 AM »

Hello mate,

I'd like to thank you for your time and help. I changed my d-link USB wireless adapter to N only and the packet loss completely disappeared.

Once again, thank you !
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46005
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Packet loss (RESOLVED)
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2015, 01:09:57 PM »

Glad you got it working. Enjoy.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!