• May 26, 2017, 02:16:58 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: I can't access my DNS-5210-10  (Read 16779 times)

ravimun

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
I can't access my DNS-5210-10
« on: July 24, 2014, 12:39:40 PM »

Hi,

I lost connectivity to my DSN-5210-10 and can't get back into it nor can I ping it. It was set to the default IP of 192.168.1.1. I tried using the CLI but continue to get the error "Unable to change tty /dev /console: No space left on device." when I enter the username and password.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 42074
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: I can't access my DNS-5210-10
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2014, 12:43:53 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DSN? Look at sticker under the DSN.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded?.
  • What region are you located?

Have you power cycled the unit OFF for 15 sec then back ON?

Tried a factory reset?

Swap out cables to test...
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ravimun

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: I can't access my DNS-5210-10
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2014, 07:23:41 AM »

The Hadware version is A1.

I've downloaded the user manual and I am going to try and spend some time today doing a power cycle and if that does not work - a factory reset.
Logged

rbelmore74

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: I can't access my DNS-5210-10
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2014, 01:26:21 PM »

I am having the same issue. My unit was decommissioned many months ago. We have found a new life for this unit. It is not responding to the old management address nor to the default. I am able to connect by serial and the admin creds work however I get the error "Unable to change tty /dev/console: No space left on device" error.  I am unable to find any documentation how to reset out of the terminal that I can not get logged into. Is there a way to force a factory reset out of terminal? Powercycle has not worked and the unit is not responding out of the old management address.
Logged

ravimun

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: I can't access my DNS-5210-10
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2014, 12:44:07 PM »

Still fighting with this SAN ..

Power cycle did not work. Reset button in the back did not work. Even connecting directly to it through the Management Port did not help.

Running the CLI and looking at the boot log gives me a lot of "no space left on device" errors.

FATAL: Could not open /lib/modules/2.6.28.7/modules.dep.temp for writing: No space left on device

Starting portmap daemon: portmap/etc/rc.d/rcS.d/S41portmap: line 70: /var/run/portmap.pid: No space left on device

Cleaning: /tmp /var/lock /var/run /etc/init.d/rcS: line 85: /var/run/utmp: No space left on device

Starting system log daemon: syslogd/etc/rc.d/rc2.d/S10syslog: line 70: /var/run/syslogd.pid: No space left on device

Starting NFS common utilities: statd/etc/rc.d/rc2.d/S19nfs-common: line 70: /var /run/rpc.statd.pid: No space left on device

And it just goes on and on. I still have not figured out a solution. At least if I can log into the CLI then I can do a factory reset.

Any help to get in through the CLI would be much appreciated.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 42074
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: I can't access my DNS-5210-10
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2014, 12:45:13 PM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ravimun

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: I can't access my DNS-5210-10
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2014, 12:33:17 PM »

Ok. I'll give it a try.

Thanks.
Logged

ravimun

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: I can't access my DNS-5210-10
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2014, 12:39:31 PM »

Ok ... finally got into the SAN courtesy of Dlink Technical Support ... Thanks guys:

Rbelmore74 try it. It worked for me.

NOTE: You will need to make sure that you are connected to the console port to do this...

Step 1: Turn on the DSN

Note: If it was already on then please power it off first

Step 2: During the boot up you will get a prompt that says "Hit any key to stop the autoboot" Press Enter on your keyboard to do a boot break

Step 3: Now type in envinfo and press enter

Now you should see Inactive_boot_loader (A) or Inactive_boot_loader (B)

Step 4: Now type set_boot X (X being A or B)

Step 5: Type env_info again to verify that boot loader

Step 6: Type reset (this will restart the system)

I was able to not only get back in but re-configure my IP's, get my QUORUM and Cluster reactivated and now I can access the VM's that were on there.


« Last Edit: August 12, 2014, 12:41:16 PM by ravimun »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 42074
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: I can't access my DNS-5210-10 (RESOVED)
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2014, 01:02:05 PM »

Glad they helped you get it working again and thanks for the steps. Hope this helps others.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting