• December 14, 2018, 07:35:39 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering  (Read 27637 times)

dph3055

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« on: November 06, 2013, 06:49:53 PM »

If you employ MAC filtering on your router you will be able to turn the filtering off to allow the DAP to connect and be assigned an IP address. If after that you turn MAC filtering back on in the router setup after entering the MAC address for the DAP in the filter list you'll find that the DAP will not function correctly.

The DAP employes two MAC addresses. One for the WAN connection to the router and a second for the extended network the DAP creates to connect with clients passing data through it. This second MAC address is presented to the router whenever traffic is forward to the router from the extended network but is not assigned an IP address by the router.

Unless this second  MAC address is entered into the network filtering table on the router, the extended network data will be dropped by the router rather than forwarded to the intended internet site.

If you are running v1.00 of the DAP firmware, finding this second MAC address is really easy as it is listed on the status configuration screen. If you have updated beyond v1.00, you no longer have access to this information. You'll need to downgrade to firmware version 1.00 and write the extended network MAC address down before upgrading the firmware again. If you don't want to jump through these hoops, then you'll need to disable MAC filtering on the router before the DAP will function properly.

If you are having data issues with the DAP and employ network filtering, this is probably why.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46300
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2013, 01:35:22 PM »

Any status on this? Sorry we didn't see this post till now...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dph3055

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2013, 01:43:52 PM »

Not much will change with respect to this issue until a firmware update allows the user to determine the extended network MAC address from the setup GUI.

If one wishes to use the DAP-1320 with a router that is configured to use MAC address filtering, one will need to downgrade the DAP firmware, make note of the two MAC addresses and then re-install the latest firmware.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46300
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2013, 02:05:09 PM »

Wonder why it was removed from newer builds. Not sure. Could have been a security issue that they needed to close.  :-\

Glad you found a work around.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

chaudard

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2013, 08:39:02 PM »

Thanks for the tip, I've got exactly the same issue. Unfortunately on mine 1.1 is installed by default and I can't find v1.0 anywhere... I tried 1.11 just in case, but still the same. Any idea ? Thanks !
Logged

chaudard

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2013, 09:28:15 PM »

All right, i've made it work. Basically, looking at this doc (Device info on p.33) :

ftp://files.dlink.com.au/products/DAP-1320/REV_A/Manuals/DAP-1320_A1_Manual_v1.00(WW).pdf

and some info on this post :

https://getsatisfaction.com/belkinrouters/topics/how_to_connect_a_d_link_dap_1320_to_work_with_belkin_f5d7230_4_router

I came to the conclusion that the extended wifi mac adress and the mac adress only differs by the second symbol (and I'd say a difference of 2, like ac:* and ae:* or 00:* and 02:*)

I might be lucky, but it did work for me
Logged

guwrt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2013, 07:16:04 AM »

Hello,

I am using a DAP-1320 range extender with a router Asus RT-N12 version D1 and I have a serious security problem with the MAC adress filter.

First of all, it is true that the extender use two mac adress to communicate. Only one them have to be in the mac adress list (allow) to access the internet. If you block this mac adress, you block all the traffic coming from the extender.

So, my problem is quite simple. If I block a device to not accessing internet via the mac filter list of the router, the device won't acces internet IF the device is connected to the router signal. IF the device is rather connected to the extender signal, it will pass through the router and it will access without any problem !! Even with parental control, the device will easily connect to internet using the extender !

Again this morning, I verified again the network config with a old Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT software and the problem is still there.

Both firmwares are updated.

Anybody have an idea to solve this problem?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46300
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2013, 07:27:53 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact D-Link support, ask for level 2 or higher support and ask about this. I see where the incoming MAC to the main host router seems to be translating DAP connected devices to the DAPs MAC instead of keeping the connected devices MAC and showing on the main host router for filtering. Not sure if this correct behavior for this model DAP or not.

Let us know how it goes.


Hello,

I am using a DAP-1320 range extender with a router Asus RT-N12 version D1 and I have a serious security problem with the MAC adress filter.

First of all, it is true that the extender use two mac adress to communicate. Only one them have to be in the mac adress list (allow) to access the internet. If you block this mac adress, you block all the traffic coming from the extender.

So, my problem is quite simple. If I block a device to not accessing internet via the mac filter list of the router, the device won't acces internet IF the device is connected to the router signal. IF the device is rather connected to the extender signal, it will pass through the router and it will access without any problem !! Even with parental control, the device will easily connect to internet using the extender !

Again this morning, I verified again the network config with a old Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT software and the problem is still there.

Both firmwares are updated.

Anybody have an idea to solve this problem?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

guwrt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2013, 04:11:57 PM »

I just discuss with Dlink support and here is the transcript:

Chat Transcript
18:49:12 [andre] hello,
18:49:20 [Jatin]

Thank you for contacting D-Link Technical Support, my name is Jatin, I will be assisting you today.

18:49:25 [Jatin] Hi Andre
18:50:08 [andre] Look at this thread, it could interesting for your team support.
18:50:14 [andre] wait
18:50:37 [andre] http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=56386.new;topicseen#new.
18:50:38 [Jatin] May I know the issue you are facing with DAP-1320
18:50:51 [andre] My nick name is Guwrt
18:51:18 [andre] last post on the thread
18:51:35 [Jatin] Please give me one moment to look into this for you.
18:52:11 [andre] I try to solve this problem since several weeks and I have no solution for the moment
18:53:43 [andre] I thought it was my new router but using my old one didn't solve this issue
18:54:16 [Jatin] Please give me one moment to look into this for you.
18:54:55 [andre] That's why I am requesting a MAC filter on the DAP
18:55:52 [Jatin] Sorry Andre we dont have the MAC filtering feature on DAP-1320
18:57:26 [andre] I know that but how to solve this issue if there is not mac filter on dap?
18:58:03 [Jatin] On DAp-1320 we dont have any such provision
18:59:02 [andre] So, any suggestion?
18:59:21 [Jatin] Please check with router support if they could do anything
19:01:12 [andre] I am discussing with the Asus support to get help but you must consider the problem is present on both routers
19:01:28 [Jatin] ok
19:01:47 [Jatin] As of now we dont have any provision for MAC filtering on DAP
19:03:01 [andre] Any way to transfer this case to higher support team to help me?
19:03:11 [Jatin] sure
19:03:13 [Jatin] Thank you for contacting D-Link Technical Support. In order to further enhance your support experience in the future, please register your product at http://support.dlink.ca/register . Thank you for chatting with us and have a great evening.


SO... not very much support from them  :(

This thread is interesting to http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=56258.0

I hope I will have more succes with Asus support

Andre
« Last Edit: November 22, 2013, 04:24:15 PM by guwrt »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46300
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2013, 06:02:59 PM »

Ok, ya I believe that this may be as designed and the behavior of the DAP.

I'll forward this to my contact and confirm with them about this. You may need to get into a DAP that has Mac Filtering or has transparency between the DAP and main host router.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dph3055

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2013, 06:05:44 PM »

Hello,

I am using a DAP-1320 range extender with a router Asus RT-N12 version D1 and I have a serious security problem with the MAC address filter.

First of all, it is true that the extender use two mac address to communicate. Only one them have to be in the mac address list (allow) to access the internet. If you block this mac address, you block all the traffic coming from the extender.


In my setup using router DIR-665 and DAP-1320:

If I disable MAC filtering, the DAP is assigned an IP address by the router and the green LED on the DAP turns solid green. After I re-enable MAC filtering, the DAP connects to the router, is assigned an IP address but the green LED on the DAP flashes green forever and data from devices connected to the DAP gets blocked by the router.

After I enter the second DAP MAC address into the router list, then the LED turns solid green and data can again flow between the devices, the DAP and the router.

So I don't have the security concern all traffic from the DAP is blocked until I set the 2nd DAP MAC.

If you wish to exclude a particular device from connecting to the router, use your MAC filter as you are doing. If you want to exclude the same device from connecting to the Extender, don't give the kids the DAP network password. :-)

A network extender is a pretty basic device. If you need advanced connection and routing control, you'd be better off using a bona fide Access Point or a second router
« Last Edit: November 22, 2013, 06:42:01 PM by dph3055 »
Logged

dph3055

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2013, 06:11:55 PM »

All right, i've made it work. Basically, looking at this doc (Device info on p.33) :

ftp://files.dlink.com.au/products/DAP-1320/REV_A/Manuals/DAP-1320_A1_Manual_v1.00(WW).pdf

and some info on this post :

https://getsatisfaction.com/belkinrouters/topics/how_to_connect_a_d_link_dap_1320_to_work_with_belkin_f5d7230_4_router

I came to the conclusion that the extended wifi mac adress and the mac adress only differs by the second symbol (and I'd say a difference of 2, like ac:* and ae:* or 00:* and 02:*)

I might be lucky, but it did work for me

You are correct, the 2nd MAC address is only one character different and it is the 2nd character of the first address pair that is different.

For the record, the last time I downloaded the firmware from dlink.com, on the 1320 support download page there was a drop down list that listed the last three firmware versions that could be selected for download. v1.00 was included.
Logged

guwrt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #12 on: November 23, 2013, 06:55:10 AM »

In my setup using router DIR-665 and DAP-1320:

If I disable MAC filtering, the DAP is assigned an IP address by the router and the green LED on the DAP turns solid green. After I re-enable MAC filtering, the DAP connects to the router, is assigned an IP address but the green LED on the DAP flashes green forever and data from devices connected to the DAP gets blocked by the router.

After I enter the second DAP MAC address into the router list, then the LED turns solid green and data can again flow between the devices, the DAP and the router.

So I don't have the security concern all traffic from the DAP is blocked until I set the 2nd DAP MAC.

If you wish to exclude a particular device from connecting to the router, use your MAC filter as you are doing. If you want to exclude the same device from connecting to the Extender, don't give the kids the DAP network password. :-)

A network extender is a pretty basic device. If you need advanced connection and routing control, you'd be better off using a bona fide Access Point or a second router

My hardware version is A1 with the firmware 1.11.

If I turn off the mac filter on the router, the led on the DAP turn solid green.

If I turn on the mac filter with the mac adress of the DAP (the one I can see on the retail box) (and only this one in the list) the led is flashing amber. No traffic is allowed through the extender.

If I turn on the mac filter with the second mac adress of the DAP (only this one in the list) the led is solid green and traffic can acces the internet. Also, any device can access internet even if they are not in the filter list (allow)
Even parental control is not functionnal !!

So I think the DAP use only one mac to establish a link with the router and everything going freely to the net.

But everything is controlled when devices are using the router signal only.

Anyway, Asus support is supposed to work on my case and I hope to get some news from them one day.

In my case, I think I bought a wrong extender to make sure all the device on my network can or not access the internet. I should have bought a Netgear extender instead (one with mac adress filter)

Andre
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46300
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #13 on: November 23, 2013, 01:09:09 PM »

You might ask D-Link support which of the DAP models has MAC filtering in there extender model line. Also check out the DIR 500 series as well. My DAP-1533 has MAC Filtering however it only works in AP and bridge mode...no repeater or extender functions. Others may have what you need.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46300
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Connecting DAP-1320 with a router using MAC filtering
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2014, 01:27:40 PM »

Any status on this?  ???

My hardware version is A1 with the firmware 1.11.

If I turn off the mac filter on the router, the led on the DAP turn solid green.

If I turn on the mac filter with the mac adress of the DAP (the one I can see on the retail box) (and only this one in the list) the led is flashing amber. No traffic is allowed through the extender.

If I turn on the mac filter with the second mac adress of the DAP (only this one in the list) the led is solid green and traffic can acces the internet. Also, any device can access internet even if they are not in the filter list (allow)
Even parental control is not functionnal !!

So I think the DAP use only one mac to establish a link with the router and everything going freely to the net.

But everything is controlled when devices are using the router signal only.

Anyway, Asus support is supposed to work on my case and I hope to get some news from them one day.

In my case, I think I bought a wrong extender to make sure all the device on my network can or not access the internet. I should have bought a Netgear extender instead (one with mac adress filter)

Andre
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2